Meta-Universe Project Team|Shu Yufan--Photoresponsive organisms


Project Background

Metaverse

We live in an expanded world that includes the coexistence of real and virtual scenarios. At the same time, the world of communication, dominated by image culture, is transforming into an interactive world in a digitally driven society. As science and technology reach a singularity moment, the Metaverse is revolutionizing the future of society with its unique characteristics. As a new type of Internet application and social form generated by integrating new technologies such as blockchain, Metaverse will bring new opportunities and development, both in the development of new scenarios, new products and services in future digital life and in the upgrading of digitalization, networking and intelligent transformation.
The metaverse is a term used to describe the future iteration of the Internet, consisting of persistent, shared three-dimensional virtual spaces that are linked into a perceptible virtual universe - the next generation of the "physical Internet".
The metaverse breaks the limitations of space and may allow most people to experience world travel virtually, interacting with family members in distant countries with high quality; or learn new technologies directly in a virtual environment, practicing until they master the right way.
In this collective virtual shared space that transcends geographical limitations, we focus our research on a multi-user virtual environment in which users create three-dimensional environments and objects and interact in them with virtual avatars, with the aim of giving experiencers a first-hand experience of the culture and historical heritage of science and technology through architectural composition and historical evolution scenario construction.


Project Description

Metaverse Capsule

This project is led by the Design Future Group of Tsinghua University's Academy of Fine Arts, and aims to explore how the metaverse changes the way we connect, perceive and experience the world around us by constructing a metaverse science popularization vehicle "capsule capsule", trying to refract reality, experience reality, shape reality, improve reality in virtual space, and provide solutions to realistic challenges through virtual experiments. We try to refract reality, experience it, shape it, improve it, and provide solutions to realistic challenges through virtual experiments. Metaverse-related technologies are currently being used in architectural real estate demonstrations, industrial manufacturing processes, and medical research.
We will use the "capsule capsule" carrier and the VR, AR and MR technologies covered by XR to continuously explore the practical application scenarios of the metaverse, so that the experiencer can enter different scenarios and life areas with a new digital identity and interact with different characters, environments and objects, thus studying the new digital civilization generated by the virtual fusion space.
At the same time, we will improve the mobility and accessibility of the capsule, so that more users can have access to the metaverse technology and try to explore whether we can find the entry point to the educational metaverse by improving the physical quality and experience in the virtual world.


 ✦ Author Bio

Shu Yufan
Undergraduates

Tsinghua University Bachelor's Degree in Body Design, School of Vehicles, Class of 2018
Second Degree in Digital Media Art, Academy of Fine Arts, Tsinghua University

In 2018, she entered the body design program at Tsinghua University's School of Vehicles, and in 2019, she began a second degree in digital media art at the School of Fine Arts.
During college, he made independent game DEMO with different genres and styles, "With the Door", "Dry Heat Daydream", "Fractal Dreaming", etc.


Interview Content

Q1.
When did you first become involved with the metaverse?

I'm afraid it's not the first grade (2006) contact "Moore Manor", in addition to not much UGC, basically Roblox, of course, later learned that "Moore Manor" also has its prototype, a player virtual image is a game of penguins to come?
As for the real contact with UGC and participate in it, it is the turn to play the game "Spore" DLC "Galaxy Adventure" in junior high school (around 2013), this DLC allows players to edit their own maps, plot, a kind of ultra-simplified game engine, and can upload the finished adventure to the player community, allowing other players to experience the adventure in the space phase of "Spore" proper play .

Q2.
Why did you choose to do this project?

In the end, it was probably because I read the comic book "Blame!" and was so impressed by the giant structures that were spreading in value that I wanted to make a game that would allow players to explore such giant structures. I was interested in mechanical assembly and Roguelike gameplay, so I did it. But when you think about it, the project has been in progress for a long time, and there is an original "deep earth" worldview, but in the middle of watching "Blame!", so the worldview was changed completely, but also proved that it has a great impact.

Figure 1: The Phototropic Organism

✦ Work Focus

Q3.
What research and advancement has the program undergone during the design process?

The development of "Convergence Creatures" is actually very stream of consciousness, without much research, but of course it can also be said that as much as possible to live the experience of playing all kinds of games in decadence over the years, such as "Besiege" such mechanical assembly type of game and "The union of Isaac" such Rougelike games. As for how to combine high freedom mechanical assembly mechanism with numerical control subtle combat gameplay, it is a reference to "Robocraft" - pvp + mechanical assembly + TPS.

Q4.
What are the main innovations in Phototropic Organisms? How is it presented?

First of all, a one-sentence summary of the game's mechanics: "Convergent Creatures" is a mechanical assembly class + third-person shooter Roguelike game with module collection and assembly, three-dimensional space crawling mechanism and hard science fiction theme as the outward core attraction, and mechanical assembly mechanism to bring the diversity of gameplay and inter-module synergy as the inner core.

       The specific innovation points can be divided into two parts.
In Roguelike games, the player character often has an intense process of ability enhancement, mostly by picking up reinforcement props, while in "Convergence Creatures", the ability enhancement is achieved by the player collecting modules and assembling them according to his own preferences, with a high degree of freedom The process is also intuitive and visible.

Figure 2: Mechanical assembly mechanism

Two: The player controls a character, an arthropomorphic mechanical creature capable of crawling across the physical surface of the level at any kind of angle. This mechanism also affects the game's level design, the scene in the converging creatures is truly three-dimensional, that is, assuming the removal of the gravity mechanism, these scenes are not strictly up and down concept. Even I also added a special event of gravity anomaly, the player may encounter no gravity or gravity direction reversal in the exploration of the situation. Like the figure of each small square is a local level, the player through a structure similar to the elevator to move between these levels.

Figure 3: 3D map

Q5.
The regret of this project?

The volume of my project is too large for me personally, plus I have been catching up with various DDL, resulting in project management can not keep up with their own spontaneous development, the project structure is a mess, until today I do not want to open the project file to look at it again.

Figure 4: Periphery of vertical tectonics illuminated by lightning

Q6.
What is your favorite metaverse designer/work? How do you get inspired to create?

Does the metaverse designer refer to the participants of UGC or the creators of the platform? If it is the latter, then it is the example cited before "Spore" producer Will Wright, one of the few major European and American manufacturers in the early years (I can not think of anyone else for a while) have the concept of UGC and promote the producer.

Figure 5: The Spore

Q7.
In the future, how does metaverse creation relate to personal development paths?

It seems that the current development of the creative or design-related industry is a process of constantly pulling down the threshold from experts to hobbyists and AI. Personally, I hope to experience as much of the simple joy of creation as possible before AI completely replaces the role of humans in the creation of the metaverse, while making a living out of it with pride.

Q8.
Introduce a book that you want to read

Vernor Vinci's "Rainbow's End", in a sense, is considered a failed prophecy of modern technological development in the XR direction more than a decade ago, and would like to revisit it to mock some, but who is it mocking?


Team Introduction

✦✦ Creative Director ✦✦

Fu Zhiyong

✦ Undergraduate team ✦

Li Yuelin
Liu Zigai
Xu Han
Su Yi Fang
Shu Yufan
Scroll to Top

元宇宙项目团队|舒予凡——趋光生物


项目背景

元宇宙

我们生活在一个扩展的世界里,包括现实和虚拟场景的共存。与此同时,以图像文化为主导的传播世界正在向数字驱动社会中的互动世界转变。伴随着科学技术迎来奇点时刻,元宇宙 (Metaverse)以其独有特征使得未来社会发生革命性变革。元宇宙作为整合区块链等新技术产生的新型互联网应用和社会形态,无论是在未来数字生活中新场景、新产品及新服务的开发方面,还是在数字化、网络化、智能化转型的升级方面,都将带来全新的机遇与发展。
元宇宙作为一个描述互联网未来迭代概念的术语,由持久的、共享的三维虚拟空间组成,由此链接成一个可感知的虚拟宇宙——下一代“实体互联网”。
元宇宙打破了空间的局限,可能让大多数人能够虚拟地体验世界旅行,与身处遥远国家的家人进行高质量的互动;或是在虚拟环境中直接学习新技术,不断练习,直到掌握了正确的方法。
在这个超越地理限制的集体虚拟共享空间中,我们将研究重点置于一个多用户虚拟环境,用户在其中创造三维环境与物体,并以虚拟化身在其中产生互动,其目的是通过建筑构成和历史演变场景构建来让体验者亲身感受科普文化、历史遗产。


项目描述

元宇宙胶囊舱

本项目由清华大学美术学院设计未来课题组主导,旨在通过构建元宇宙科普载体“胶囊舱”,探索元宇宙如何改变我们连接、感知和体验周围世界的方式,尝试在虚拟空间中折射现实、体验现实、塑造现实、改进现实,并通过虚拟实验为现实挑战提供解决方案。元宇宙相关领域技术目前已经引用于建筑房地产的演示,工业生产加工,以及医疗研究。
我们将利用“胶囊舱”载体以及XR所涵盖的VR、AR、MR技术,持续探寻元宇宙的实际应用场景,使体验者以全新化数字身份进入不同场景及生活领域,在不同角色、环境、物品之间互动,从而研究由虚拟融合空间产生的新数字文明。
同时,我们将提高“胶囊舱”的机动性,提高体验的可达性,让更多用户可以接触到元宇宙技术,尝试探索能否通过提高虚拟世界中的物理质量与体验,从而找寻教育元宇宙切入点。


 ✦ 作者简介

舒予凡
本科生

清华大学 2018级车辆学院车身设计专业学士学位
清华大学美术学院 数字媒体艺术第二学位

2018年进入清华大学车辆学院车身设计专业学习,2019年开始修读美术学院数字媒体艺术第二学位。
大学期间制作独立游戏DEMO,类型与风格不一,《与门》、《燥热白日梦》、《分形梦呓》等。


访谈内容

Q1:
您什么时候开始和元宇宙结缘?

怕不是小学一年级(2006年)接触的《摩尔庄园》吧,除了没有太多UGC,基本就是Roblox了,当然后来也知道《摩尔庄园》亦有其原型,一个玩家虚拟形象是企鹅的游戏来着?
至于真正接触到UGC并参与其中,得轮到初中(2013年左右)开始玩的游戏《孢子》的DLC《银河大冒险》,这个DLC能让玩家在其中自己编辑地图,剧情,算是个超简化的游戏引擎,并且能够将制作完成的冒险上传到玩家社区,让其它玩家在《孢子》本体玩法的太空阶段中体验冒险。

Q2:
为什么选择做这个项目?

说到底可能是看了《Blame!》这部漫画作品,被其中不断增值蔓延的巨构建筑结构深深震撼,便想做一个能让玩家探索这类巨构的游戏。加上本人对机械组装和Roguelike玩法都比较感兴趣,便动手了。但仔细一想其实这个项目早就开工了,有一个原创的“深土”世界观,只是中间看了《Blame!》,于是把世界观改得面目全非,倒也证明了它的影响之大吧。

图1:《趋光生物》

✦ 作品聚焦

Q3:
在设计过程中,方案进行了哪些研究与推进?

《趋光生物》的开发其实很意识流,没有太多研究,当然也可以说是尽可能地去活用了多年以来颓丧中玩各类游戏的经验,如《Besiege》这类机械组装类型的游戏和《以撒的结合》这类Rougelike游戏。至于如何将高自由度的机械组装机制与数值控制微妙的战斗玩法结合,则是参考了《Robocraft》——pvp+机械组装+TPS。

Q4:
《趋光生物》中的主要创新点是什么?如何表现?

首先对游戏的机制做一个一句话总结:《趋光生物》是以模组收集和拼装,三维空间爬行机制和硬科幻题材作为外显的核心吸引力,并以机械组装机制带来的玩法多样性和模组间协同效应作为内在核心的机械组装类+第三人称射击Roguelike游戏。

       具体创新点可分为两个部分。
一:追求自由度的机械组装机制与注重微妙平衡的Roguelike类型的结合。Roguelike游戏中玩家角色常常拥有一个剧烈的能力提升过程,大部分都以拾取强化道具的途径实现,而《趋光生物》中的能力提升途径则是玩家收集模组并根据自己的喜好进行组装,拥有很高的自由度和丰富性,过程也显得直观可见。

图2:机械组装机制

二:玩家操控的角色,节肢拟态机械生物能以任何一种角度在关卡的实体表面爬行。这个机制也影响了游戏的关卡设计,趋光生物中的场景是真正意义上三维的,即是说,假设去除重力的机制,这些场景都没有严格的上下概念。甚至我也加入了重力异常的特殊事件,玩家在探索中有可能遇上无重力或者重力方向反转的情况。像图中的每一个小方块就是局部的一个关卡,玩家通过类似电梯的结构在这些关卡间移动。

图3:三维地图

Q5:
这个项目的遗憾?

我这个项目对于我个人来说体量实在过大,加上后来一直再赶各种DDL,导致项目管理跟不上自己的随性开发,项目架构一团乱麻,直至今日我也不想再打开工程文件看它一眼。

图4:被闪电照亮的垂直构造体外围

Q6:
您最喜欢的元宇宙设计师/作品?如何获得创作灵感?

元宇宙设计师究竟是指UGC的参与者还是平台的创作者呢?如果是指后者,那便是之前举的例子《孢子》的制作人威尔·莱特了,早年间欧美大厂中为数不多(一时半会儿想不到还有谁)有UGC概念并推崇之的制作人。

图5:《孢子》

Q7:
在未来,元宇宙创作与个人发展路径的关系?

似乎目前创作或设计相关行业的发展是个不断将门槛由专家下拉至爱好者和AI的过程,就我个人来说,希望在AI尚未完全替代人类在元宇宙创造中的作用前,尽可能的多体验朴素的创作乐趣,同时充满自豪地以此为生。

Q8:
介绍一本自己想读的书

弗诺·文奇的《彩虹尽头》,某种意义上算是十几年前对XR方向的现代科技发展的失败预言,想重温下去嘲笑一番,但这是嘲笑谁呢?


团队介绍

✦ 创意总监 ✦

付志勇

✦ 本科生团队 ✦

李玥霖
刘子驾
徐 寒
苏怡芳
舒予凡
滚动到顶部