Meta-Universe Project Team|Yifang Su--"Age of Living Things" Discursive Design


Project Background

Metaverse

We live in an expanded world that includes the coexistence of real and virtual scenarios. At the same time, the world of communication, dominated by image culture, is transforming into an interactive world in a digitally driven society. As science and technology reach a singularity moment, the Metaverse is revolutionizing the future of society with its unique characteristics. As a new type of Internet application and social form generated by integrating new technologies such as blockchain, Metaverse will bring new opportunities and development, both in the development of new scenarios, new products and services in future digital life and in the upgrading of digitalization, networking and intelligent transformation.
The metaverse is a term used to describe the future iteration of the Internet, consisting of persistent, shared three-dimensional virtual spaces that are linked into a perceptible virtual universe - the next generation of the "physical Internet".
The metaverse breaks the limitations of space and may allow most people to experience world travel virtually, interacting with family members in distant countries with high quality; or learn new technologies directly in a virtual environment, practicing until they master the right way.
In this collective virtual shared space that transcends geographical limitations, we focus our research on a multi-user virtual environment in which users create three-dimensional environments and objects and interact in them with virtual avatars, with the aim of giving experiencers a first-hand experience of the culture and historical heritage of science and technology through architectural composition and historical evolution scenario construction.


Project Description

Metaverse Capsule

This project is led by the Design Future Group of Tsinghua University's Academy of Fine Arts, and aims to explore how the metaverse changes the way we connect, perceive and experience the world around us by constructing a metaverse science popularization vehicle "capsule capsule", trying to refract reality, experience reality, shape reality, improve reality in virtual space, and provide solutions to realistic challenges through virtual experiments. We try to refract reality, experience it, shape it, improve it, and provide solutions to realistic challenges through virtual experiments. Metaverse-related technologies are currently being used in architectural real estate demonstrations, industrial manufacturing processes, and medical research.
We will use the "capsule capsule" carrier and the VR, AR and MR technologies covered by XR to continuously explore the practical application scenarios of the metaverse, so that the experiencer can enter different scenarios and life areas with a new digital identity and interact with different characters, environments and objects, thus studying the new digital civilization generated by the virtual fusion space.
At the same time, we will improve the mobility and accessibility of the capsule, so that more users can have access to the metaverse technology and try to explore whether we can find the entry point to the educational metaverse by improving the physical quality and experience in the virtual world.


 ✦ Author Bio

Su Yi Fang
Undergraduates

Tsinghua University, College of Fine Arts, Class of 2018, Department of Information Art and Design

In 2018, he entered the Department of Information Art and Design at the Academy of Fine Arts, Tsinghua University, where he studied Information Art and Design. In 2022, he designed his undergraduate project "The Age of Living Things" as a work of discursive design, under the supervision of Professor Fu Zhiyong.

Interview Content

Q1.
When did you first become involved with the metaverse?

My interest in the metaverse began with the game Fortnite, and I was impressed when a friend who was playing Fortnite in 2020 shared with me his experience of a Travis Scott online concert in Fortnite, and in 2021 the concept of the metaverse exploded and the Fortnite online concert was mentioned repeatedly on social media as a prime example. It was repeatedly mentioned in social media.

Q2.

Why did you choose to do this project?
During my undergraduate studies, I was first introduced to Discursive Design in Mr. Fu Zhiyong's course, and after the course lectures and group work, I gained a preliminary understanding of Discursive Design. I am interested in futurology and future technology, and I hope to think about future life forms and related technological and ethical issues in my final project, so I chose Discursive Design as a tool to think about these issues and present my ideas in the form of discursive objects.

Figure 1 "Age of Living Things" discursive objects and corresponding timeline

Q3.
As a background in information art and design, how do you define a meta-universe builder?

Nowadays, we can see that many designers in the field of art and design are already designing through the concept of metaverse, and the major of information art and design is a comprehensive major with a wide range of knowledge. Based on the more advanced and mature technology and equipment, designers can realize more potential in experience design and create a more immersive metaverse experience.


✦ Work Focus

Q4.
What materials and works have inspired you in the creative process?

My most frequent reference in the creative process was Anthony Dunn and Fiona Raby's book Speculative Everything: Design, Fiction, and Social Dreaming, and the explanation of physical props in this book helped me to understand more about discursive design in the process of designing discursive objects. The book's explanation of physical props helped me to understand more about discursive design in the process of designing discursive objects. The hypothetical parallel world is one of the attractions of discursive design for me, and discursive objects need to fit into a simulated worldview while maintaining a subtle connection to the real world. The book's explanation of discursive objects provides me with a "yardstick" for validating object design in the creative process.

Q5.
Why choose AR to present discursive objects?

In my opinion, AR is a very favorable means of display to create a sense of unreality. The display of simulated images of discursive objects based on a real physical space can satisfy two aspects at the same time: the realism of the discursive design in relation to the real world and the unreality of the distance from the real world.
In some typical cases of discursive design, the use of physical prop photography or other imagery with a sense of realism to display discursive objects is a very common presentation method. The physical space of AR recognition provides a realistic space to serve as a support for the discursive objects, and the model display of the discursive objects can weaken the sense of realism to reflect the unreality of the props.

On the other hand, AR brings a viewing experience with a sense of immersion that is difficult to achieve with traditional video presentations, and such a display method is conducive to displaying discursive objects that may not be easy to handle, such as some relatively abstract objects or objects that need to reflect a sense of volume, AR is undoubtedly a stable and rich display solution.

Figure 2 AR function initial test screenshots and AR effect

Q6.
Figure 2 AR function initial test screenshots and AR effect

This graduation creation allowed me to further deepen my thinking about the future of technology, and also allowed me to gain more experience in the application of some thinking methods. It is rather regrettable that the offline exhibition cancelled due to the epidemic, the actual audience feedback I got for my AR display solution was rather limited, and there is still more room for improvement in the experience-related design.

Fig. 3 Effect of online display of graduation design

Q7.
What is your favorite metaverse designer/work? How do you get inspired to create?

The work that impressed me more recently was Cai's latest NFT work, Your Daylight Flame. Unlike Cai's previous NFT works, in the Your Daylight Flame project he allows collectors to have an immersive experience with deep interactive participation.
The project artificially sets up the "Tsai Calendar" as the basis for the fireworks display time, and sells a total of 7,000 "fireworks packs", each of which can be used to set off The project website will be updated daily with the location, weather, and local regulations for the 90 days of the "Cai Calendar" (45 days in real time), and collectors with "fireworks packs" will be able to select any of these days based on this information. Collectors with a "fireworks package" can choose any of these days to set off their "fireworks package".

Figure 4 Cai Guo-Qiang, YourDaytimeFireworks, 2022

Q8.
In the future, how does metaverse creation relate to personal development paths?

The current level of development of metaverse is still far from the final form of metaverse we envision, but now we can see a large amount of capital pouring into the construction and development of metaverse, which is a good trend for creators who want to devote themselves to the construction of metaverse. For the creators, metaverse creation requires a broader vision and interdisciplinary knowledge, as well as a keen sense of future trends.

Q9.
Introduce a book that you want to read

I have recently been reading Donna Haraway's Apes, Cyborgs, and Women, a collection of Haraway's essays from 1978 to 1989, and I chose to focus on the essay "The Cyborg Manifesto". In this essay, Haraway's "cyborg"-centered perspective provides a path for thinking about issues related to socio-political identity and feminism, and also opens up more possibilities for my understanding of "human beings".


✦✦ Creative Director ✦✦

Fu Zhiyong

✦ Undergraduate team ✦

Li Yuelin
Liu Zigai
Xu Han
Su Yi Fang
Shu Yufan
Scroll to Top

元宇宙项目团队|苏怡芳——“活物时代”思辨设计


项目背景

元宇宙

我们生活在一个扩展的世界里,包括现实和虚拟场景的共存。与此同时,以图像文化为主导的传播世界正在向数字驱动社会中的互动世界转变。伴随着科学技术迎来奇点时刻,元宇宙 (Metaverse)以其独有特征使得未来社会发生革命性变革。元宇宙作为整合区块链等新技术产生的新型互联网应用和社会形态,无论是在未来数字生活中新场景、新产品及新服务的开发方面,还是在数字化、网络化、智能化转型的升级方面,都将带来全新的机遇与发展。
元宇宙作为一个描述互联网未来迭代概念的术语,由持久的、共享的三维虚拟空间组成,由此链接成一个可感知的虚拟宇宙——下一代“实体互联网”。
元宇宙打破了空间的局限,可能让大多数人能够虚拟地体验世界旅行,与身处遥远国家的家人进行高质量的互动;或是在虚拟环境中直接学习新技术,不断练习,直到掌握了正确的方法。
在这个超越地理限制的集体虚拟共享空间中,我们将研究重点置于一个多用户虚拟环境,用户在其中创造三维环境与物体,并以虚拟化身在其中产生互动,其目的是通过建筑构成和历史演变场景构建来让体验者亲身感受科普文化、历史遗产。


项目描述

元宇宙胶囊舱

本项目由清华大学美术学院设计未来课题组主导,旨在通过构建元宇宙科普载体“胶囊舱”,探索元宇宙如何改变我们连接、感知和体验周围世界的方式,尝试在虚拟空间中折射现实、体验现实、塑造现实、改进现实,并通过虚拟实验为现实挑战提供解决方案。元宇宙相关领域技术目前已经引用于建筑房地产的演示,工业生产加工,以及医疗研究。
我们将利用“胶囊舱”载体以及XR所涵盖的VR、AR、MR技术,持续探寻元宇宙的实际应用场景,使体验者以全新化数字身份进入不同场景及生活领域,在不同角色、环境、物品之间互动,从而研究由虚拟融合空间产生的新数字文明。
同时,我们将提高“胶囊舱”的机动性,提高体验的可达性,让更多用户可以接触到元宇宙技术,尝试探索能否通过提高虚拟世界中的物理质量与体验,从而找寻教育元宇宙切入点。


 ✦ 作者简介

苏怡芳
本科生

清华大学美术学院2018级信息艺术设计系本科

2018年进入清华大学美术学院信息艺术设计系信息艺术设计专业学习,2022年以思辨设计作品”活物时代“作为本科毕业设计,导师付志勇教授。

访谈内容

Q1:
您什么时候开始和元宇宙结缘?

我对元宇宙开始感兴趣要从游戏《堡垒之夜》说起。2020年时身边在玩《堡垒之夜》的朋友向我分享了他在《堡垒之夜》里体验的Travis Scott在线演唱会,当时我对这个活动的印象非常深刻。2021年的时候元宇宙概念爆火,《堡垒之夜》在线演唱会也作为典型案例在社交媒体上被反复提及。

Q2:

为什么选择做这个项目?
本科学习期间我在付志勇老师的课程中初次接触到了思辨设计,经过课程讲解及小组合作作业后我对思辨设计有了初步的理解。平日里我也比较喜欢欣赏各种科幻作品,对未来学和未来技术都挺有兴趣的,我希望能在毕设的创作中对未来生命形态及相关的技术伦理问题有所思考,因此我选择了思辨设计作为我思考这些问题的工具并将想法以思辨物件的形式呈现出来。

图1 “活物时代”思辨物件及相应时间线

Q3:
作为信息艺术设计专业背景,如何定义元宇宙构建师?

现在我们可以看见在艺术设计领域已经有很多设计师通过元宇宙这个概念进行设计了,而信息艺术设计专业是一个综合性较强、涉及知识领域较广的专业,结合这个专业背景的设计师在建构元宇宙时能切入的角度有很多,例如从用户体验的角度出发,建构元宇宙少不了强调沉浸式的体验设计,基于更加先进成熟的技术和设备,设计师可以在体验设计方面发挥出更大的潜力、打造更有沉浸感的元宇宙体验。


✦ 作品聚焦

Q4:
在创作过程中有哪些资料和作品为你带来了启发?

在创作过程中我参考最为频繁的资料是安东尼·邓恩和菲奥娜·雷比的著作《思辨一切:设计、虚构与社会梦想》(Speculative Everything:Design,Fiction,and Social Dreaming),而这本书里面对于物理道具的解释让我在设计思辨物件的过程中对思辨设计更加理解。假设的平行世界是我认为思辨设计的魅力点之一,而思辨物件需要契合模拟世界观、同时与现实世界维持一种微妙的联系。这本书对思辨物件的解释为我在创作过程中提供了一把对物件设计进行验证的“标尺”。

Q5:
为什么选择用AR来呈现思辨物件?

在我看来AR是一种非常利于塑造非现实感的展示手段,基于一个现实的物理空间来展示模拟的思辨物件影像能够同时满足两个方面的感受:思辨设计联系于现实世界的拟真感以及与现实世界保持距离的非现实感。
在一些思辨设计的典型案例中利用实物道具摄影或是其他具备拟真感的影像来展示思辨物件是一种非常普遍的表现手法,AR识别的物理空间提供了一个拟真的空间来作为思辨物件的载托,而思辨物件的模型展示又能够削弱拟真感从而体现出道具的非现实感。

另一方面,AR带来的观看体验具有传统影像演示难以达到的沉浸感,同时这样的展示方式利于展示一些可能并不易于处理的思辨物件,例如一些相对抽象的物件或是需要体现体量感的物件,AR无疑是一种稳定且能实现丰富的展示效果的解决方案。

图2  AR功能初期测试截图及AR效果图

Q6:
图2  AR功能初期测试截图及AR效果图

这次的毕业创作让我进一步加深了对技术未来的思考,同时也让我对一些思维方法的应用积累了更多经验。比较遗憾的是因疫情取消的线下展览,我的AR展示方案得到的实际观众反馈比较有限,体验相关的设计仍有较大的改进空间。

图3 毕业设计线上展示效果图

Q7:
您最喜欢的元宇宙设计师/作品?如何获得创作灵感?

最近给我留下印象比较深刻的作品是蔡国强的最新NFT作品《你的白日焰火》,与蔡国强以往的NFT作品不同,在《你的白日焰火》项目中他让藏家以深度互动参与的方式来获得沉浸式的体验。
这个作品人为地设置了“蔡日历”作为烟花的燃放时间依据,该作品总共出售7000个“烟花包”,每个“烟花包”都可用于燃放一次数字烟花,而项目网站会在“蔡日历”的90天之间(对应现实时间是45天)每日更新烟花燃放的地点、天气以及当地法规,拥有“烟花包”的藏家可以根据这些信息选择这其中的任意一天来燃放自己的“烟花包”。

图4 蔡国强,YourDaytimeFireworks,2022

Q8:
在未来,元宇宙创作与个人发展路径的关系?

元宇宙目前的发展程度离我们设想的元宇宙最终形态仍有很大的差距,现在我们能够看到大量资本倾注到元宇宙的建设发展中来,对于有意投身元宇宙建构的创作者来说这是一个良好的趋势。对于创作者来说,元宇宙创作需要创作者有更加开阔的视野和跨学科知识积淀,同时还要兼具对未来趋势的敏锐嗅觉,元宇宙对创作者的综合能力提出了更高的要求,这对于大部分创作者而言都是一个艰巨的挑战。

Q9:
介绍一本自己想读的书

我最近正在看唐娜·哈拉维的《类人猿、赛博格和女人》,这本书收录了哈拉维于1978~1989年间的多篇文章,其中我选择着重阅读《赛博格宣言》这篇文章。在文中,哈拉维以“赛博格”为中心的视角为社会政治身份和女性主义等相关课题提供了一个思考路径,同时也让我对“人”的理解有了更多可能性。


✦ 创意总监 ✦

付志勇

✦ 本科生团队 ✦

李玥霖
刘子驾
徐 寒
苏怡芳
舒予凡
滚动到顶部