Technology Winter Olympics|Research on the design of Korean text virtual reality game based on Winter Olympics events

Project Background & Introduction

In the key special project of "Science and Technology for Winter Olympics" of National Key R&D Program, Mr. Fu Zhiyong's team researches the 3D construction and semantic understanding technology of large-scale competition scenes based on multi-source data, and builds a mixed reality e-sandbox and data visualization engine to support the situation of the Winter Olympic Games. Research and build a mixed reality electronic sandbox and data visualization engine to support the visualization of information. To help the main operation center of the Winter Olympic Organizing Committee, the regional command and the command center of each competition venue to fully understand the scene situation, to assist the relevant personnel in the complex environment of cross-regional, cross-level communication and cooperation, for the Winter Olympic Games command system in the event preparation, event operations, opening and closing ceremonies and other scenarios to smoothly carry out security monitoring, logistical support, emergency response to emergencies and other work to provide support.

In February 2022, the team received an official letter of appreciation from the Beijing Winter Olympic Organizing Committee. Since then, the team members have been working on their own designs based on their research results and project experience, and we would like to take this opportunity to introduce the team members and their design works in a series of topics on the Winter Olympics.


Author Bio

Song Zhengyun
 Master students

Tsinghua University, School of Fine Arts, Class of 2019, Master's Degree in progress
B.A. Digital Media Design, Hongik University College of Art, Korea

He graduated from Hongik University, majoring in digital media design, and entered Tsinghua University, majoring in information art and design, as a foreign student in 2019. In 2022, he created his graduation project "Virtual Reality Game Design of Korean Characters Based on Winter Olympic Games". In addition, he is studying Design Futurology, a methodology in which designers study future prediction scripts and design processes.


Interview Content

Q1.When did you get involved with the Winter Olympics?

During my graduate study in Korea, I participated in the "Mixed Reality-based Winter Olympic Games Situation Visualization and Consultation Technology" in the National Key Research and Development Program "Special Project on Winter Olympic Games Technology". The research of "Mixed Reality-based Situation Visualization and Consultation Technology". During my involvement in the Winter Olympics, I became interested in virtual reality technology and the 3D construction of venues. South Korea hosted the PyeongChang Winter Olympics in 2018, so I am also very interested in the preparation and competition of the Winter Olympics in Beijing, China.

Figure 1 Research process

Q2.Why choose to do this projectWhat is it?

By studying the current educational needs of Korea and the Korean people's interest in the Beijing Winter Olympic Games, I hope to use the venues and events of the 2022 Beijing Winter Olympic Games as the content of my work, and study how to create educational and fun online games based on virtual reality technology to promote children's interest in learning while spreading the culture of the Winter Olympic Games. On the one hand, this study will explore the application of virtual reality technology in game design and study the interaction design mode in virtual space, and on the other hand, it will create virtual reality game works that can spread sports culture and propose creative solutions for children to learn Korean characters, taking into account the fact that the Winter Olympics are attracting the attention of Korean children. Therefore, the design of a virtual reality Korean text game based on the Winter Olympic Games was decided as my thesis research topic.

Q3.What is the main focus of your work?

Aiming at children learning Korean, the project builds a fun Korean learning scenario based on the Winter Olympics featured venues and events, uses virtual reality game technology to realistically interact with the process, and summarizes and refines a learning experience model that is both educational and fun. This project combines new developments in virtual reality and gaming technology to address the need for immersive learning experiences in the education field. The research uses the Winter Olympics venue as an informal learning environment for Korean children to explore an educational and fun approach to learning Korean characters.

Q4.The research significance of your work?

Exploring Korean language text learning based on children, designing a more engaging learning model and enhancing game immersion, sports games can make Korean language learning more engaging and improve children's personalized Korean language learning experience. Exploring new forms of interaction between children and parents or children and teachers for language and text learning in the virtual space of the Internet is a new attempt at an educational model and helps shape the value of the public good.


Q5.
How did you conduct your research in the early stages?

In the first phase of my research, I conducted an online seminar and Korean text research using futuristic research tools.

Figure 2 Results of the workshop and analysis with the Future Design Tool

A questionnaire survey was conducted with parents who live in urban Korea and have children between the ages of 3 and 7. I prepared and held an online seminar in order to gain a deeper understanding of the difficulties experienced by parents involved in Korean language education and children receiving Korean language education in the process of learning Korean. In preparing the tools for the seminar, I chose four futuristic tools (Current Journey Map, STEEP, Futures Triangle and Futures sign) that help me to analytically grasp the problems and to gain a deeper understanding of when and where children have difficulties.

Figure 3 Study of Korean information composition chart and winter sports vocabulary

I researched the way to construct Korean words that fit the research topic. Based on the characteristics or attributes of winter sports competitions, I divided the competitions performed in the Winter Olympics into three types of events: snow, ice, and base skating, and compiled Korean words in the related competitions. In addition, several groups of words related to sports culture were compiled in order to learn words for cheering with positive effects, and words for the spirit and meaning of the Olympic Games.


Q6.
What is the specific design process?

Figure 4 Design scheme diagram

The game rule information of three events in the Winter Olympic Games (curling, ski and shooting, and bobsledding) was fused with Korean educational methods (reciting, exploring, and sending letters) to become the game content. The design scheme selected game maps for seven types of spaces, including a plaza, a space for conducting cheering, a ski and shooting venue, a bobsled arena, a curling venue, a game space based on curling recitation of Korean characters, and a store. To make this design scheme realistic, the Beijing Olympic venues were simplified and made into models, and the user interface design was familiar to the learners even in winter style. The interaction design is mainly developed based on the game mind flow theory.
The interaction design phase was to use the sports rules of the Winter Olympics and use the Beijing Winter Olympics venues as the main scenario of the game. This project used Roblox as the virtual reality game development platform to present the final scenario through 3D model building and scripting.

Figure 5 Overall model diagram
Figure 6 Development technology platform

The system development for this design is based on Roblox Studio version and the programming language is based on Lua. Roblox is an online game platform and game creation system developed by Roblox Corporation and launched in 2006. Roblox was chosen as the development platform for virtual space gamification because it is relatively easy to operate, has a realistic physical system, and can reflect the characteristics of sports items. The overseas version of Roblox can directly export the APP game version, which is also more suitable for small-scale testing. Models made by other 3D software can also be more easily imported into Roblox for further processing. In addition, the software platform used for graphic design, this design is based on Adobe Illustrator, Adobe Photoshop for graphic design.

Figure 7 Graphic Design

Roblox provides a guest called ScreenGui in order to apply the graphical user interface (GUI) design required for the game, so that the GUI can be affixed to the surface of the 3D models present in Roblox games. because the research utilizes Korean educational services for Winter Olympics sports, white, icy design graphic elements are used in order to create the atmosphere of winter sports.
Interaction design solutions are interaction designs that are specific to the object of study. It is important that the children feel the fun through the interaction in the game.
To facilitate children's Flow experience, "challenging but manageable tasks" are a key element of Flow, which responds "to the full play experience, including social interactions".

Figure 8 Five learning modes
Figure 9 Five learning modes

I developed games based on selected 5 learning modes (scenario learning mode, exploration learning mode, dynamic learning mode, sequential learning mode, and life simulation learning mode). The game method belonging to each mode is given through the chart of development results. By studying the interaction methods, the Korean learning game modes were divided into five modes: scenario learning mode, exploration learning mode, dynamic learning mode, sequential learning mode, and life simulation learning mode, and by integrating the Korean text and game interaction methods, an entertaining and educational Korean learning program was presented.


Results show

Figure 10 The Hangul Game

Here's a brief video introducing my entire game!


Q7.
What problems did you encounter in the research process and how did you solve them?

The game I planned was the most difficult process of researching what kind of game to design in order to guide the children to learn Korean in a fun and engaging way, and to make them learn effectively.
In addition, how to use the game elements of the Winter Olympics sports competition became an important topic. In order to solve this problem, I searched for examples of projects that were researched and developed based on the concepts of "Edutainment" and "Gamification" in the field of education and games, and conducted The project examples based on the concepts of "Edutainment" and "Gamification" are analyzed in detail. In addition, we downloaded a variety of mobile educational games and played them in practice. We also watched the Winter Olympics winter sports video and were able to design what kind of game form to develop.
During the development phase, we used Roblox, which uses the lua language, to develop the game. Since the lua programming language was the first computer language we encountered, we repeatedly imitated other people's game development examples and quickly became familiar with the iterative Scrips form.

Q8.
What is the contribution of your research?

At the level of technical implementation, I completed the construction of 3D models combined with the characteristics of the Winter Olympic venues and events, imported them into the game development platform Roblox, completed the game programming work, and realized several Korean learning game modes through various functional functions to complete the experienceable game results.
At the level of design research, it is also socially important to develop educational design for children based on virtual reality technology. During the epidemic, this study also did participatory research on language learning styles between children and parents and children and teachers through an online model, exploring new ways of interaction that provide a more useful reference for addressing current social challenges. In addition, the prototype learning game completed in this study also explores forms of shaping mind-flow experiences in a 3D virtual reality space, which could contribute to the development of educational game designs related to winter sports games.

Q9.
What are your future prospects for this research project?

This study is currently limited to Korean script learning, which may pose limitations to this study. The current game content does not yet support children of other languages to experience and learn, so subsequent design studies and tests are needed for other language scripts, such as English and Chinese. The content design of the educational game needs to take into account the special characteristics of each language and script and make full use of the characteristics of its language and script composition to develop a more suitable presentation for the virtual reality space, and also needs to study the mind flow experience and interaction patterns of children in different speech contexts, so that it can better enhance the adaptability of this work and results and can contribute more to the interaction design patterns of the virtual reality space.
In addition, it is necessary to further improve immersion elements in the virtual space that cannot be felt in the real space of the Winter Olympics in order to allow children to experience new experiences with a sense of immersion. In order to improve this immersion, the limiting points in each virtual reality system environment should be analyzed and the development of the corresponding technical immersion elements should be concentrated. For example, by embodying the five senses experience, 3D sound and haptic technology devices that can feel snow and ice can be realistically represented in the Winter Olympics space. By blocking the peripheral vision, the separation from reality is further consolidated and the intimacy of the image is improved.


Team Members

Team Leader.
Fu Zhiyong Guan Yan

Team members.
Tao Shu, Gao Songling, Xu Jingwen, Zhang Jin, Lei Jieming, Song Zhengyin, Wang Qirui, Wu Hongfei

Scroll to Top

科技冬奥|基于冬奥赛事的韩文字虚拟现实游戏设计研究

项目背景&介绍

付志勇老师团队在国家重点研发计划“科技冬奥”重点专项课题中,针对北京冬奥会运行指挥保障中跨层级、跨时空多源数据融合和信息呈现的需求,研究基于多源数据的大范围比赛场景三维构建与语义理解技术,研究并构建支持冬奥会态势信息可视化的混合现实电子沙盘和数据可视化引擎。帮助冬奥组委主运行中心、赛区指挥部与各比赛场馆指挥中心充分了解现场态势,协助相关人员进行在复杂环境下的跨区域、跨层级沟通合作,为冬奥会指挥系统在赛事筹备、赛事运行、开闭幕式等场景下顺利开展安全监控、后勤保障、突发事件应急处置等工作提供支撑。

2022年2月团队获北京冬奥组委官方感谢信。在此之后团队成员依托已有研究成果与项目经验各自进行设计创作,借此机会以科技冬奥系列专题对团队成员及设计作品进行介绍。


作者简介

宋政垠
 硕士研究生

清华大学美术学院2019级硕士研究生在读
弘益大学艺术学院 数字媒体设计学士 韩国

本科毕业于弘益大学艺术学院数字媒体设计专业, 2019年作为外国留学生,进入清华大学美术学院信息艺术设计专业学习,导师付志勇副教授。硕士阶段参与国家重点课题科技冬奥项目,研究基于未来设计和虚拟现实的冬奥会态势可视化与游戏设计等内容。2022年创作毕业设计“基于冬奥赛事的韩文字虚拟现实游戏设计”。另外,深入研究设计未来学(Design Futurology),设计师在设计未来的方法论中研究未来预测剧本和设计流程。


访谈内容

Q1:您什么时候和科技冬奥结缘?

我作为韩国留学生在读研期间, 参与了国家重点研发计划“科技冬奥专项”:“冬奥会全局全过程态势感知和运行指挥保障技术”中的“基于混合现实的冬奥会态势可视化和会商技术”课题研究。在参与冬奥课题中,我对虚拟现实技术和场馆的三维构筑产生了兴趣。韩国曾在2018年举办过平昌冬奥会,因此对中国北京冬奥会的筹备和比赛也都有着非常浓厚的兴趣。

图1 研究过程

Q2:为什么选择做这个项目

通过研究韩国当前教育方面的需求、结合韩国人对北京冬奥会的关注,我希望将2022年的世界性盛会北京冬季奥运会的场馆和赛事作为创作内容,研究如何基于虚拟现实技术创作寓教于乐的在线游戏,增进儿童学习兴趣的同时也传播冬奥文化。借助该研究,一方面可以探索将虚拟现实技术应用于游戏设计的方式,研究虚拟空间中的交互设计模式,另外一方面,也能够结合冬季奥运会受韩国儿童关注的契机,创作出能够传播体育文化的虚拟现实游戏作品,为儿童学习韩文字提出有创意的方案。因此,基于冬奥会赛事的虚拟现实韩文文字游戏设计被确定为我的毕业论文研究课题。

Q3:您的作品主要聚焦在哪一方面的问题?

面向学习韩文的儿童,基于冬奥特色场馆和赛事活动,构建具有趣味性的韩文字学习场景,利用虚拟现实游戏技术现实互动过程,并总结提炼出寓教于乐的学习体验模式。本项目结合虚拟现实和游戏技术的新发展,针对教育领域对沉浸学习体验的需求而开展研究。研究将冬奥场馆作为非正式学习环境,面向韩国儿童,探索寓教于乐的韩文字学习方法。

Q4:您的作品的研究意义?

基于儿童的韩文文字学习开展探索,设计更有吸引力的学习模式并提升游戏沉浸感,体育游戏可以让韩文学习更有吸引力,提高儿童的韩文个性化学习体验。在网络虚拟空间里,探索儿童与父母或儿童与教师之间开展语言文字学习的新互动形式,是教育模式的新尝试,也有助于塑造公益价值。


Q5:
您在前期如何开展研究?

前期研究过程中,我进行了利用未来学研究工具的在线研讨会和韩文字研究。

图2 研讨会及用未来设计工具分析结果

以居住在韩国城市并育有3-7岁子女的父母为对象进行了问卷调查。为了更深入了解参与韩文教育的家长和接受韩文教育的儿童在学习韩文过程中所经历的困难,笔者筹备并举办了在线研讨会。在研讨会的设计工具准备方面,我选择了有助于分析性地掌握问题的4种未来型工具(Current Journey Map, STEEP, Futures Triangle and Futures sign),能够深入理解孩子何时何地在哪些方面会遇到困难。

图3 韩文信息构成图和冬季运动词汇研究

我研究符合研究主题的韩文单词构建方式, 根据冬季体育比赛的特点或属性,将冬季奥运会进行的比赛项目分为雪上、冰上、滑垒三种,并整理了相关比赛项目中的韩文单词。另外,为了学习具有积极效果的助威单词,和奥运会精神和意义的单词,还整理出几组与体育文化相关的单词。


Q6:
具体的设计过程是怎么样的?

图4 设计方案图

冬奥比赛中三个项目(冰壶、滑雪和射击、雪橇)的游戏规则信息与韩文教育方法(背诵,探索,发送信件)进行融合,成为游戏内容。设计方案选定了广场、进行加油的空间、滑雪射击场地、雪橇场馆、冰壶场地、基于冰壶背诵韩文字的游戏空间、商店等7种空间的游戏地图。为了现实这个设计方案,北京奥运场馆被简化而制作成模型,用户界面设计即使冬季风格,也是学习者们熟悉的设计。交互设计主要以游戏心流理论为基础而展开。
交互设计阶段是利用冬季奥运会的运动规则,将北京冬奥会场馆作为游戏主要场景。本项目将Roblox用作为虚拟现实游戏开发平台,通过三维模型搭建和脚本编写来呈现最终方案。

图5 整体模型图
图6 开发技术平台

本设计的系统开发基于Roblox Studio版本,编程语言基于Lua。Roblox是由Roblox Corporation开发并于2006年推出的网络游戏平台及游戏制作系统。选定Roblox作为虚拟空间游戏化的开发平台是因为它较为容易操作,具有真实感的物理系统,能够体现出运动项目特点。海外版的Roblox可以直接输出APP游戏版本,也比较适合小规模的测试。其他三维软件制作的模型,也可以比较方便地导入Roblox做进一步的处理。除此之外,用于平面设计的软件平台,本设计基于Adobe Illustrator,Adobe Photoshop进行平面设计。

图7 平面设计

Roblox提供名为ScreenGui的客体,以便应用游戏所需的图形用户界面(GUI)设计,因此可以在Roblox游戏中存在的3D模型的表面贴上GUI。因为研究利用冬奥会体育的韩文教育服务,所以为了营造冬季体育的氛围,使用了白色、冰冷的设计图形要素。
交互设计方案是针对研究对象的交互设计。孩子们在游戏中通过交互感受到的乐趣很重要。
为了便于儿童的Flow经验,“虽然具有挑战性,但容易处理的任务”是Flow中关键的要素,对此应对的是“在完整的游戏体验中,包括社会相互作用”。

图8 五种学习模式
图9 五种学习模式

我开发出了基于选定的5种学习模式(场景学习模式、探索学习模式、动态学习模式、顺序学习模式、生活模拟学习模式)的游戏。通过开发结果图表给出属于各模式的游戏方法。通过对交互方式的研究,将韩文学习游戏模式分为场景学习模式、探索学习模式、动态学习模式、顺序学习模式、生活模拟学习模式这五种模式,通过韩文文字与游戏交互方式的融合,呈现了寓教于乐的韩文学习方案。


成果展示

图10 The Hangul Game

这里通过一个简单的视频介绍一下我整个游戏吧!


Q7:
在研究过程中遇到哪些问题,您怎么解决?

我计划的游戏为了引导孩子们有趣地学习韩文,让孩子们投入其中,让他们有学习效果,研究设计什么样的游戏的过程最困难。
另外,如何利用冬季奥运会体育比赛的游戏要素成为了重要的话题。为了解决这个问题,我在教育及游戏领域寻找了以”寓教于乐(Edutainment)”和”游戏性(Gamification)”概念为基础研究和开发的项目事例,并进行了缜密的分析。而且下载了多种多样的移动教育用游戏,实际进行了游戏。而且看着冬奥会冬季体育视频,可以设计出以何种游戏形态开发。
在开发阶段,利用使用lua语言的Roblox开发游戏,因为lua编程语言是第一次接触的电脑语言,所以反复模仿其他人的游戏开发示例,很快就熟悉了反复的Scrips形态。

Q8:
你的研究具有怎样的贡献?

在技术实现层面,我结合冬奥场馆和赛事特色完成了三维模型的构建,并导入到游戏开发平台Roblox中,完成了游戏编程工作,通过各种功能函数,实现了多个韩文学习游戏模式,完成了可体验的游戏成果。
在设计研究层面,基于虚拟现实技术开展面向儿童的教育设计也具有重要社会意义。在疫情期间,本研究也通过线上模式对儿童与父母、儿童与教师之间语言学习方式做了参与式研究,探索出了新的交互方式,为解决当下的社会挑战提供了较为有益的参考。另外,本研究完成的学习游戏原型,也探究了在三维虚拟现实空间中的心流体验塑造形式,可对开发与冬季体育游戏相关的教育游戏设计有所贡献。

Q9:
您对该研究项目的未来展望?

本研究目前仅限于韩文文字学习,可能会带来本研究的局限性。目前的游戏内容还不能支持其他语种的儿童来体验和学习,因此后续还需要针对其他语言文字,如英语和汉语等,进行相关的设计研究和测试。教育游戏的内容设计需要考虑到每种语言文字的特殊性,充分利用其语言文字构成的特点,开发出更适合虚拟现实空间的呈现方式,同时也需要研究不同语音背景下儿童的心流体验和交互模式,从而能够更好地增强本作品和成果的适应性,能够为虚拟现实空间的交互设计模式贡献更多的内容。
另外,在冬季奥运会现实空间里感受不到的虚拟空间里,为了让孩子们有沉浸感地体验新的经验,有必要进一步完善沉浸要素。为了提高这种沉浸感,应该分析各虚拟现实系统环境中的限制点,集中开发相应的技术沉浸要素。比如,通过体现五感体验,可以现实地表现冬奥会空间的3D声音和能够感受到冰雪的触觉技术装置。通过阻断周围的视野,进一步巩固与现实的分离,提高画面的亲密感。


团队成员

团队负责人:
付志勇 关琰

团队成员:
陶澍 高松龄 徐婧文 张晋 雷杰茗 宋政垠 王麒瑞 武鸿飞

滚动到顶部