Meta-Universe Project Team|Xu Han Liu Zijie--Underground Insect City


Project Background

Metaverse

We live in an expanded world that includes the coexistence of real and virtual scenarios. At the same time, the world of communication, dominated by image culture, is transforming into an interactive world in a digitally driven society. As science and technology reach a singularity moment, the Metaverse is revolutionizing the future of society with its unique characteristics. As a new type of Internet application and social form generated by integrating new technologies such as blockchain, Metaverse will bring new opportunities and development, both in the development of new scenarios, new products and services in future digital life and in the upgrading of digitalization, networking and intelligent transformation.
The metaverse is a term used to describe the future iteration of the Internet, consisting of persistent, shared three-dimensional virtual spaces that are linked into a perceptible virtual universe - the next generation of the "physical Internet".
The metaverse breaks the limitations of space and may allow most people to experience world travel virtually, interacting with family members in distant countries with high quality; or learn new technologies directly in a virtual environment, practicing until they master the right way.
In this collective virtual shared space that transcends geographical limitations, we focus our research on a multi-user virtual environment in which users create three-dimensional environments and objects and interact in them with virtual avatars, with the aim of giving experiencers a first-hand experience of the culture and historical heritage of science and technology through architectural composition and historical evolution scenario construction.


Project Description

Metaverse Capsule

This project is led by the Design Future Group of Tsinghua University's Academy of Fine Arts, and aims to explore how the metaverse changes the way we connect, perceive and experience the world around us by constructing a metaverse science popularization vehicle "capsule capsule", trying to refract reality, experience reality, shape reality, improve reality in virtual space, and provide solutions to realistic challenges through virtual experiments. We try to refract reality, experience it, shape it, improve it, and provide solutions to realistic challenges through virtual experiments. Metaverse-related technologies are currently being used in architectural real estate demonstrations, industrial manufacturing processes, and medical research.
We will use the "capsule capsule" carrier and the VR, AR and MR technologies covered by XR to continuously explore the practical application scenarios of the metaverse, so that the experiencer can enter different scenarios and life areas with a new digital identity and interact with different characters, environments and objects, thus studying the new digital civilization generated by the virtual fusion space.
At the same time, we will improve the mobility and accessibility of the capsule, so that more users can have access to the metaverse technology and try to explore whether we can find the entry point to the educational metaverse by improving the physical quality and experience in the virtual world.


 ✦ Author Bio

Xu Han
Undergraduates

Tsinghua University Bachelor's Degree in Architecture, Class of 2018
Second Degree in Digital Media Art, Academy of Fine Arts, Tsinghua University

In 2018, she entered the Department of Architecture, School of Architecture, Tsinghua University for her undergraduate studies, and started her second degree in Digital Media Art at the School of Fine Arts in 2019. she received her master's degree exemption from the Department in 2021.
Interest in systematic design methods and process derivation programs.

Liu Zigai
Undergraduates

Bachelor's degree in Electronic Information from Tsinghua University
Second Degree in Digital Media Art, Academy of Fine Arts, Tsinghua University

The research interests are blockchain technology, chain tour, and meta-universe.
2020.6-2021.11 Defi (decentralized exchange) product development as a full-stack developer at web3
2021.12-2022.1 Participate in Polygon hackathon for Web3 chain tour development
2021-present In charge of the THUBA bootcamp series NFT (digital collection art) distribution at THUBA (Tsinghua University Blockchain Association)


Interview Content

Q1.
When did you first become involved with the metaverse?

Liu Zidai: I first learned about the meta-universe around 2018 to 2019. At that time, I watched some propaganda of "Top Gun", and some of my friends got rich speculating on coins, so I also started to understand some blockchain technology and meta-universe related information.
It was around 2020 that I came into contact with the meta-universe. At that time, I saw a remote job that required skills that matched my own, and I just had the summer to spare, so I submitted my resume.

Q2.
Why did you choose to do this project?

Han Xu: The topic requires us to build a space that can accommodate a virtual body, and to explore the relationship between human beings in the future society, which is more related to my major, and I want to explore and design the space and formal logic in the project. At the same time, based on my interest in sandbox games, open worlds, role-playing games, etc., I also wanted to work with students with strong technical skills to build an independent and complete small world with its own set of operating rules through this project.

Figure 1 Underground cave world

Q3.
As a background in digital media art, how do you define a meta-universe builder?

Liu Zidai: I think the difference between metaverse and pure digital space is that metaverse should have some substantial connection, for example, with the support of blockchain technology, the difference between metaverse games and ordinary games is that the currency system of ordinary games is purely a string of data in a database, and the only connection with reality is that the game provider gives players an open top-up interface, while the currency system in metaverse games The currency system in the metaverse game is cleverly linked to the real world fiat currency in the form of cryptocurrency, NFT, etc. The game currency and the fiat currency are mapped to each other, and there must be such a substantial connection to be able to say that it is a metaverse.
The linkage is not necessarily in the economic direction, for example, it can also be a high degree of human-computer interaction, perceptual linkage, such as in "Top Gun", the digital world like in "The Matrix", the digital world they depict, at the level of human perception, a high degree of virtual-reality linkage has even reached the stage of virtual substitution for reality.
It can also be on a cultural level, for example, transferring some valuable heritage from the real world to a whole new virtual space.

Therefore, metaverse design should also start from the perspective of mapping reality to the virtual, where we map our perceptions in the real world and the products of the real world into the digital space in a new form, which is how I define metaverse design.
As an information-related professional, I mostly start with technology when building my meta-universe.


✦ Work Focus

Q4.
What research and advancement has the program undergone during the design process?

Xu Han: In terms of design, I first explored the methods of social and cooperation-based multiplayer game design, categorizing them into "common goals", "world enrichment" and "win-win cooperation". The three categories are complemented by the study of excellent game cases. Based on the research, the design plan arranges the background in a dark and confined cave, and uses three insect races with different forms, abilities and personalities to symbolize the diversity of individuals in reality. The races develop alone, cooperate together, and avoid confrontation, and these behavioral relationships are a microcosm of interpersonal relationships in contemporary society.

At the beginning of the project, Liu Zijia and I were more interested in what the concept of "metaverse" was, and we agreed on "multiplayer games", "emotional healing" and "building We came to a consensus on "multiplayer", "emotional healing", and "construction experiments" - we came up with an idea of using various building materials to construct buildings. Then, based on the concept of "social experimentation," we created a checkerboard-style world that focused on mapping the development of real-world civilizations and reinforcing the influence of geography and resources on architectural style. The teacher suggested that we should retain the hexagonal system, the architectural synthesis, and explore the conceptual and organic nature of architecture, as well as the life and emotional meaning represented by architectural expansion.

Figure 2 Program advancement timeline

Q5.
What are the main mechanisms in Insect City Underground? How are they represented?

Xu Han: The program is based on "cooperation and symbiosis", and its mechanism follows the principle of "hand in hand": the cave is dimly lit, and space and resources are limited, which is the objective condition; and the three races follow certain rules to cooperate, or explore, or collect, or build, to gradually expand the habitat to bring light to the underground world. The three races work together in the cave according to certain rules, either exploring, gathering, or building, gradually expanding their habitat and bringing light to the underground world. Players play the role of shiny insects, the process of cave construction and socialization is also the process of finding social partners and building spiritual support in the virtual world - the name of the program "Underground Insect City" was born.

Figure 3 Three different races

The specific mechanisms can be divided into three parts. One is the exploration in a multi-layered world. Horizontally, each level of the cave has a dominant ecological theme, surrounded by dimness and limited space and resources. Players need to make full use of the space of each layer, step by step, resource collection and accumulation, building construction synthesis, and repair the access to the next layer, to achieve the long-term goal of world exploration and territorial expansion. Vertically, the ecology, theme color, and resource distribution of each layer are different, stimulating the player's desire for exploration and making him go "deeper" through collaborative cooperation.
Second, the collection and construction. The resource distribution is based on limited space, which limits the player's development from the numerical design. Resource blocks of various shapes and sizes are involved in the construction of the scene, requiring players to collaboratively collect them, mainly for construction and expansion. The synthesis of high-level buildings is inseparable from the participation of low-level buildings of each race, which requires each race to plan the layout of buildings, territory planning and other elements, "common" construction, and synergistic synthesis.

Figure 4 Resources to be collected collaboratively

Third, social interaction. The goal-oriented behavior of exploring, collecting and building is stronger, and the gameplay emphasizes "hand in hand". In contrast, the social function returns part of the game's free space to players, giving them a platform to chat and interact, and echoing the theme more directly through players' spontaneous behavior patterns. At present, the program has made certain conceptions on the way of player diversion, including room search, race distribution, power balance, etc., but there is still room for further in-depth design of more specific "player-player" direct interaction design.

Figure 5 The multi-layered cave world

Q6.
The regret of this project?

Liu Zidai: After we finished the prototype development of the game, as we previously used external software to model the model, during the final development stage, we found that the imported model could not be used directly. Additional texture mapping had to be created. We eventually chose to recreate the model in Roblox. Due to time constraints and lack of proficiency in Roblox modeling, this resulted in our final product having room for optimization in terms of visual presentation.

Q7.
What is your favorite metaverse designer/work? How do you get inspired to create?

Liu Zidai: My favorite meta-universe designer is sartoshi, who has produced the mfers series of NFT works. From mfers I feel the romance that is unique to web surfers.

Figure 6 mfers series NFT works

Q8.
In the future, how does metaverse creation relate to personal development paths?

Liu Zidai: At present, the topics that content creators can create in the metaverse are still relatively limited, and there is not yet a unified paradigm for games, music and other metaverse fields. I hope that my future industry is related to the infrastructure of the metaverse field, based on which more content creators will be able to create more freely.

Q9.
Introduce a book that you want to read

Xu Han: I plan to read Eisenman's "Perspectives on Modernism" a few more times, hoping I can keep my feet on the ground and look up at the stars.


Team Introduction

✦✦ Creative Director ✦✦

Fu Zhiyong

✦ Undergraduate team ✦

Li Yuelin
Liu Zigai
Xu Han
Su Yi Fang
Shu Yufan
Scroll to Top

元宇宙项目团队|徐寒 刘子驾——地下昆虫城


项目背景

元宇宙

我们生活在一个扩展的世界里,包括现实和虚拟场景的共存。与此同时,以图像文化为主导的传播世界正在向数字驱动社会中的互动世界转变。伴随着科学技术迎来奇点时刻,元宇宙 (Metaverse)以其独有特征使得未来社会发生革命性变革。元宇宙作为整合区块链等新技术产生的新型互联网应用和社会形态,无论是在未来数字生活中新场景、新产品及新服务的开发方面,还是在数字化、网络化、智能化转型的升级方面,都将带来全新的机遇与发展。
元宇宙作为一个描述互联网未来迭代概念的术语,由持久的、共享的三维虚拟空间组成,由此链接成一个可感知的虚拟宇宙——下一代“实体互联网”。
元宇宙打破了空间的局限,可能让大多数人能够虚拟地体验世界旅行,与身处遥远国家的家人进行高质量的互动;或是在虚拟环境中直接学习新技术,不断练习,直到掌握了正确的方法。
在这个超越地理限制的集体虚拟共享空间中,我们将研究重点置于一个多用户虚拟环境,用户在其中创造三维环境与物体,并以虚拟化身在其中产生互动,其目的是通过建筑构成和历史演变场景构建来让体验者亲身感受科普文化、历史遗产。


项目描述

元宇宙胶囊舱

本项目由清华大学美术学院设计未来课题组主导,旨在通过构建元宇宙科普载体“胶囊舱”,探索元宇宙如何改变我们连接、感知和体验周围世界的方式,尝试在虚拟空间中折射现实、体验现实、塑造现实、改进现实,并通过虚拟实验为现实挑战提供解决方案。元宇宙相关领域技术目前已经引用于建筑房地产的演示,工业生产加工,以及医疗研究。
我们将利用“胶囊舱”载体以及XR所涵盖的VR、AR、MR技术,持续探寻元宇宙的实际应用场景,使体验者以全新化数字身份进入不同场景及生活领域,在不同角色、环境、物品之间互动,从而研究由虚拟融合空间产生的新数字文明。
同时,我们将提高“胶囊舱”的机动性,提高体验的可达性,让更多用户可以接触到元宇宙技术,尝试探索能否通过提高虚拟世界中的物理质量与体验,从而找寻教育元宇宙切入点。


 ✦ 作者简介

徐寒
本科生

清华大学 2018级建筑专业学士学位
清华大学美术学院 数字媒体艺术第二学位

2018年进入清华大学建筑学院建筑系本科学习,2019年开始修读美术学院数字媒体艺术第二学位。2021年获得本系硕士推免资格。
对系统性的设计方法与过程推演葆有兴趣。

刘子驾
本科生

清华大学电子信息专业学士学位
清华大学美术学院 数字媒体艺术第二学位

研究方向为区块链技术,链游,元宇宙。
2020.6-2021.11 在web3公司作为全栈开发者进行Defi(去中心化交易所)产品开发
2021.12-2022.1 参与Polygon黑客松进行Web3链游的开发
2021至今 于THUBA(清华大学区块链协会)负责THUBA bootcamp 系列NFT(数字藏品艺术)的发行


访谈内容

Q1:
您什么时候开始和元宇宙结缘?

刘子驾:我最开始了解到元宇宙是在2018至2019年左右,那个时候看了《头号玩家》的一些宣传,一些朋友中有人炒币发了财,自己也开始去了解一些区块链的技术,元宇宙相关的资讯。
大概在2020年左右才正式接触元宇宙,当时是看到一份远程工作,所需要的技能和自己契合,刚好暑假闲着就去投了简历,那份工作做的是去中心化交易所,Web3,区块链的东西或多或少和元宇宙也相关,也就逐渐了解了元宇宙相关的很多东西。

Q2:
为什么选择做这个项目?

徐寒:选题要求我们构建一处能够容纳虚拟化身的空间,且要求探讨未来社会中人和人间的关系,这些与我的专业较为相关,我想要在项目中展开对空间与形式逻辑进行探讨和设计。同时,基于自身对沙盒游戏、开放世界、角色扮演等游戏的兴趣,我也想和技术能力较强的同学一起,通过这个项目构建一个独立完整、颇具雏形、自有一套运行规则的小世界。

图1 地下洞穴世界

Q3:
作为数字媒体艺术专业背景,如何定义元宇宙构建师?

刘子驾:我觉得元宇宙和纯粹的数字空间的区别在于元宇宙要有一些实质性的联结,比如在区块链技术的加持下,元宇宙的游戏和普通游戏的区别就在:普通游戏他的货币体系纯粹只是一串数据库中的数据,唯一和现实相连的是游戏商给予玩家开放了一个充值接口,而元宇宙游戏中的货币系统则是通过加密货币,NFT等形式巧妙地与现实世界中的法币产生了联结。游戏货币和法币产生了互相映射的关系,必须要有这样的实质性联结才能够说得上是元宇宙。
联结的不一定是经济方向的,比如,也可以是高度的人机交互,感知上的联结,比如《头号玩家》中,《黑客帝国》中那样的数字世界,他们所描绘的数字世界,在人类的感知层面上,虚拟与现实的高度联结甚至已经达到了虚拟替代现实的阶段。
也可以是文化层面上的,比如,把现实世界的一些宝贵遗产转移到一个全新的虚拟空间。

因此元宇宙设计也应以现实映射到虚拟这个角度出发,我们将在现实世界的感知以及现实世界的产物以全新的形式映射到数字空间中去,我是这么定义元宇宙设计的。
作为信息相关的专业,我在构建元宇宙时多数是先从技术出发。


✦ 作品聚焦

Q4:
在设计过程中,方案进行了哪些研究与推进?

徐寒:设计方面,我首先对基于社交与合作的多人游戏设计方法进行探究,将方法归为“共同目标”、“丰富世界”、“合作共赢”三类,辅以优秀游戏案例的学习。基于研究,设计方案将背景安排在黑暗、局限的洞穴当中,并用三个形态、能力、性格各不相同的昆虫种族象征现实中个体的多样性。种族在其中独自发展、协同合作、避让对立,这些行为关系是当下社会人际关系的缩影。

开题时,我和刘子驾更多地在探讨“元宇宙”的概念是什么,就“多人游戏”、“情感疗愈”以及“建造实验”达成了共识——我们提出了一个使用各种建材搭建建筑的设想。而后,在基于“社会实验”的概念上,我们创建了一个棋盘式的世界,重点在于映射现实世界的文明发展,并强化地理、资源等对建筑风格的影响。老师建议我们在保留六边形体系、建筑合成的基础上,探索建筑的概念性、有机性,以及建筑扩张所代表的人生、情感意义。

图2 方案推进时间线

Q5:
《地下昆虫城》中的主要机制是什么?如何表现?

徐寒:方案以“合作与共生”为主基调,其机制遵循“携手”的原则:洞穴光线昏暗,空间、资源均有限,是客观条件的制约;而三个种族在其中遵循一定规则通力合作,或探索、或采集、或建造,逐步扩张栖息地,为地下世界带来光明。玩家扮演亮晶晶的昆虫、进行洞穴建设与社交的过程,也是其在虚拟世界中寻找社交伙伴、建构心灵寄托的过程——“地下昆虫城”的方案名称应运而生。

图3 三个不同种族

具体机制可分为三部分。一是在多层世界中的探索。水平方向上,每一层洞穴均有一个主导的生态主题,四周昏暗,空间、资源有限。玩家需要充分利用每一层的空间,步步为营,进行资源采集与囤积、建筑建造合成、以及修缮通往下一层的通道,实现长远目标的世界探索与领地扩张。垂直方向上,每一层的生态、主题颜色、资源分布均有区别,激发玩家的探索欲,使其通过协同合作走得更“深”。
二是采集与建造。资源分布基于有限空间,从数值设计上对玩家的发展做出了限制。形态各异的资源图块参与了场景的构建,需要玩家协同采集,主要用于建造与扩张。高级建筑的合成离不开各个种族低级建筑的参与,这要求各个种族协同规划建筑布置、领地规划等要素,“共同”建造,协同合成。

图4 需要合作采集的资源

三是社交互动。探索、采集、建造等行为的目标导向较强,从玩法上强调“携手”。相比较而言,社交功能将游戏的部分自由空间还给玩家,给予他们聊天、互动的平台,通过玩家自发的行为模式更直接地呼应主题。目前,方案对玩家的分流方式做出了一定的构想,包括房间搜索、种族分配、势力均衡等,而对于更具体的“玩家——玩家”直接交互设计的考虑仍有进一步深入的设计空间。

图5 多层的洞穴世界

Q6:
这个项目的遗憾?

刘子驾:我们在完成了游戏的原型开发后,由于我们先前使用了外部软件对模型进行了建模,在最后开发阶段的时候,发现导入的模型无法直接使用。必须额外纹理贴图的制作。最终我们选择了在Roblox中对模型进行重新制作,由于时间有限以及对Roblox建模不熟练,这导致我们的最终成品在视觉效果的表现力上还有优化空间。

Q7:
您最喜欢的元宇宙设计师/作品?如何获得创作灵感?

刘子驾:我最喜欢的元宇宙设计师是sartoshi,他出品了mfers系列的NFT作品。从mfers中我感受到了属于网上冲浪人特有的浪漫。

图6 mfers系列NFT作品

Q8:
在未来,元宇宙创作与个人发展路径的关系?

刘子驾:目前元宇宙领域中内容创作者能够创作的题材仍然比较有限,对于游戏,音乐等元宇宙领域尚未有统一的范式,我希望我未来从事的行业与元宇宙领域的基础设施有关,基于这些基础设施,更多的内容创作者将能够更自由地进行创作。

Q9:
介绍一本自己想读的书

徐寒:打算多读几遍埃森曼的《现代主义的角度》,希望自己能够脚踏实地、仰望星空。


团队介绍

✦ 创意总监 ✦

付志勇

✦ 本科生团队 ✦

李玥霖
刘子驾
徐   寒
苏怡芳
舒予凡
滚动到顶部