Meta-Universe Project Team|Yue-Lin Li - Twenty-Four Elements


Project Background

Metaverse

We live in an expanded world that includes the coexistence of real and virtual scenarios. At the same time, the world of communication, dominated by image culture, is transforming into an interactive world in a digitally driven society. As science and technology reach a singularity moment, the Metaverse is revolutionizing the future of society with its unique characteristics. As a new type of Internet application and social form generated by integrating new technologies such as blockchain, Metaverse will bring new opportunities and development, both in the development of new scenarios, new products and services in future digital life and in the upgrading of digitalization, networking and intelligent transformation.
The metaverse is a term used to describe the future iteration of the Internet, consisting of persistent, shared three-dimensional virtual spaces that are linked into a perceptible virtual universe - the next generation of the "physical Internet".
The metaverse breaks the limitations of space and may allow most people to experience world travel virtually, interacting with family members in distant countries with high quality; or learn new technologies directly in a virtual environment, practicing until they master the right way.
In this collective virtual shared space that transcends geographical limitations, we focus our research on a multi-user virtual environment in which users create three-dimensional environments and objects and interact in them with virtual avatars, with the aim of giving experiencers a first-hand experience of the culture and historical heritage of science and technology through architectural composition and historical evolution scenario construction.


Project Description

Metaverse Capsule

This project is led by the Design Future Group of Tsinghua University's Academy of Fine Arts, and aims to explore how the metaverse changes the way we connect, perceive and experience the world around us by constructing a metaverse science popularization vehicle "capsule capsule", trying to refract reality, experience reality, shape reality, improve reality in virtual space, and provide solutions to realistic challenges through virtual experiments. We try to refract reality, experience it, shape it, improve it, and provide solutions to realistic challenges through virtual experiments. Metaverse-related technologies are currently being used in architectural real estate demonstrations, industrial manufacturing processes, and medical research.
We will use the "capsule capsule" carrier and the VR, AR and MR technologies covered by XR to continuously explore the practical application scenarios of the metaverse, so that the experiencer can enter different scenarios and life areas with a new digital identity and interact with different characters, environments and objects, thus studying the new digital civilization generated by the virtual fusion space.
At the same time, we will improve the mobility and accessibility of the capsule, so that more users can have access to the metaverse technology and try to explore whether we can find the entry point to the educational metaverse by improving the physical quality and experience in the virtual world.


 ✦ Author Bio

Li Yuelin
Undergraduates

Tsinghua University, College of Fine Arts, Class of 2018, Department of Information Art and Design

Born in Beijing, he entered the information design program of the Department of Information Art and Design at the Academy of Fine Arts of Tsinghua University in 2018, and created his graduation design "Twenty-Four Elements" in 2022, under the supervision of Professor Fu Zhiyong.


Interview Content

Q1.
When did you first become involved with the metaverse?

At the end of 2021, we had the opportunity to work with our computer science majors and were introduced to the interesting knowledge of genetic algorithms, and we were inspired by the blockchain game "CryptoKitties", which was a big hit at that time. Spirit". Similar to "CryptoKitties", each of the sprites we generated in the game can be presented as crypto artworks. During the practice, our understanding of the metaverse and crypto art has gradually deepened, and this has become an opportunity for me to explore the field of crypto art.

pixel spirit is a small game that allows you to capture and breed sprites. The appearance of the sprites is automatically generated through genetic algorithms, and the sprites are weighted by the user's actions of capturing, releasing and breeding them for training and filtering purposes.

Q2.
Why did you choose to do this project?

I was inspired by the countdown to the opening ceremony of the 2022 Beijing Winter Olympics. On an internationally oriented stage, all the Chinese aesthetics embedded in poetry, the 24 solar terms and other cultures are displayed in a fascinating way, showing us the infinite possibilities of digitalization for cultural heritage. I would like to take advantage of the open and diverse platform of the metaverse and the historically traceable nature of encrypted art toGiving cultural heritage a stronger life in the present.

The graduation design online exhibition platform presents: Twenty-Four Elements is a showroom on a meta-universe platform, where the author uses AI technology to recreate the traditional culture of the twenty-four solar terms in the space, exploring a new way of interpreting cultural heritage brought about by digitalization.

Q3.
As a background in information art and design, how do you define a meta-universe builder?

The Department of Information Art & Design (DEPARTMENT OF INFORMATION ART & DESIGN) is a very broad field of study, and the concept of metaverse itself is constantly being updated and refined, so it is difficult to define metaverse design from a professional background. However, based on my practical experience and some case studies, metaverse design is a way to help designers unleash their talents and imagination. For example, because it is not bound by the physical laws of the real world, it is possible to build some Fantasy things like portals or sky gardens when modeling scenes; the form of works in the metaverse is not limited, and moving images and 3D installations can be well presented in it.


✦ Work Focus

Q4.
What are the advantages of virtual displays of encrypted art over traditional forms of displays?

After the concept of metaverse is proposed, the virtual exhibition space on the existing metaverse platform has more support of blockchain technology and richer means of interaction than the traditional online exhibition hall. After the hardware devices such as AR/VR become more mature in the future, the virtual showroom in the metaverse can be enriched and extended infinitely on the basis of the real world. In addition toStrong interaction and immersive experience, in the metaverseCultural Interaction CollisionandAdvantages for IP dissemination and protectionMore than anything else, it is the highlight.

Q5.
Why did you choose AI as a technical tool in the creation?

There are two reasons for using AI as a creative tool, one is because due to the nonAbstractionThere are many elements in the twenty-four solar terms unit. For example, the spring unit contains elements such as spring flowers, magnolia blossoms, snow melting, eating spring rolls, and walking in spring. If these elements are shown one by one, the work will look stiff and patchy. Therefore, I chose to use artificial intelligence text-image generation adversarial network to try to fuse these elements together to form an abstract feeling about each festival unit.

Screenshot of the Spring Equinox related work page generated with pyTTI tool

The second reason is that because the AI technology used is an open source tool, the use of AI technology does not increase the threshold for the creation of works, but rather makesIt is possible for people with no art major and no programming background to create such image works. I want to attract more people to participate in the re-creation of cultural heritage through such means and expand the effect of dissemination.

Q6.
Can you give us some summary and future prospect of your work?

Due to the time constraint, this graduation creation is only a preliminary exploration of the virtual exhibition design of cultural heritage encryption art, and there is still a lot of room for improvement. There is still a lot of room for improvement. We still need to learn and practice further in the details of AI technology and interactive design of the virtual exhibition hall. For example, the interactive interface in the exhibition hall still needs to be improved, and the natural integration of the interactive interface in the exhibition hall will make the audience experience more smoothly.

Next I want more people to see the effect of this practical presentation and to popularize the use of AI tools to more people, and to collect the works and display them in the exhibition hall. MediumThe traditional cultural heritage of the country should not be put on the shelf, and how to attract the attention of the general public and join the team of inheritance and innovation is the next concern of this creation.

Q7.
What is your favorite metaverse designer/work? How do you get inspired to create?

The work that impressed me most at the beginning of my encounter with crypto art, "The Merge", was created by artist Pak. Unlike other crypto artworks, "The Merge" is no longer an image or a game, but can be defined as a mass performance art written on the blockchain with smart contracts, and the final look of the artwork is determined by everyone involved.

Each purchaser owns a small ball, the size of this ball according to the number of purchases, each wallet can only have a small ball, when buying a second ball, the two balls will be combined into one, the color and volume will also change.

I think this work can be seen as a movement for art democracy. The records of transactions written on the chain become part of the artwork, showing us that art collecting is not something that only the elite can touch.
As for the acquisition of creative inspiration, looking back at my previous works, I think two things are important. One is a lot of input of content, such as what happened in history and now, some science fiction works or the worldview setting in a game. The second is a general knowledge of the boundaries and achievable effects of existing technologies, just like understanding the properties of paints and brushes before painting.

Q8.
In the future, how does metaverse creation relate to personal development paths?

I have a very positive attitude towards metaverse creation, or the creation of crypto art. During the rise of the metaverse platform and crypto art I have seen a large number of excellent digital artworks become known, and countless more artworks have been activated in the metaverse - as collectibles, as avatars or as digital assets; I have also seen that the population of people creating artworks is expanding, and it is not only the artists who devote themselves to the creation of crypto artworks, but also many people with non-art backgrounds, which brings vitality to crypto art. I also see that the population of people creating artwork is expanding, with not only artists but also many people from non-art backgrounds, bringing vitality to crypto art.
    I like to post my work on the opensea platform, which is not only a trading platform for me, but also a record of my creations. It's a great feeling to put my works in the collection and write them on the blockchain. It's like drawing on the timeline, looking at the thick pile of records, I always feel a sense of accomplishment.

Q9.
Introduce a book that you want to read

I think I can only recommend one book first, The Way of Seeing. Although it was published in 1972, the art criticism from the author's pen is very easy to read on, and we can also learn about the way people viewed nearly fifty years ago, and the author's thoughts on the close connection between art and gender, politics, history, economics, etc.
The Philosophy of Art Reader, which I really wanted to read and get the other day, is a bit obscure and not very recommended, probably due to the translation. I'm currently looking for the next book I want to read.


Team Introduction

✦✦ Creative Director ✦✦

Fu Zhiyong

✦ Undergraduate team ✦

Li Yuelin
Liu Zigai
Xu Han
Su Yi Fang
Shu Yufan
Scroll to Top

元宇宙项目团队|李玥霖——廿四元域


项目背景

元宇宙

我们生活在一个扩展的世界里,包括现实和虚拟场景的共存。与此同时,以图像文化为主导的传播世界正在向数字驱动社会中的互动世界转变。伴随着科学技术迎来奇点时刻,元宇宙 (Metaverse)以其独有特征使得未来社会发生革命性变革。元宇宙作为整合区块链等新技术产生的新型互联网应用和社会形态,无论是在未来数字生活中新场景、新产品及新服务的开发方面,还是在数字化、网络化、智能化转型的升级方面,都将带来全新的机遇与发展。
元宇宙作为一个描述互联网未来迭代概念的术语,由持久的、共享的三维虚拟空间组成,由此链接成一个可感知的虚拟宇宙——下一代“实体互联网”。
元宇宙打破了空间的局限,可能让大多数人能够虚拟地体验世界旅行,与身处遥远国家的家人进行高质量的互动;或是在虚拟环境中直接学习新技术,不断练习,直到掌握了正确的方法。
在这个超越地理限制的集体虚拟共享空间中,我们将研究重点置于一个多用户虚拟环境,用户在其中创造三维环境与物体,并以虚拟化身在其中产生互动,其目的是通过建筑构成和历史演变场景构建来让体验者亲身感受科普文化、历史遗产。


项目描述

元宇宙胶囊舱

本项目由清华大学美术学院设计未来课题组主导,旨在通过构建元宇宙科普载体“胶囊舱”,探索元宇宙如何改变我们连接、感知和体验周围世界的方式,尝试在虚拟空间中折射现实、体验现实、塑造现实、改进现实,并通过虚拟实验为现实挑战提供解决方案。元宇宙相关领域技术目前已经引用于建筑房地产的演示,工业生产加工,以及医疗研究。
我们将利用“胶囊舱”载体以及XR所涵盖的VR、AR、MR技术,持续探寻元宇宙的实际应用场景,使体验者以全新化数字身份进入不同场景及生活领域,在不同角色、环境、物品之间互动,从而研究由虚拟融合空间产生的新数字文明。
同时,我们将提高“胶囊舱”的机动性,提高体验的可达性,让更多用户可以接触到元宇宙技术,尝试探索能否通过提高虚拟世界中的物理质量与体验,从而找寻教育元宇宙切入点。


 ✦ 作者简介

李玥霖
本科生

清华大学美术学院2018级信息艺术设计系本科

生于北京,2018年进入清华大学美术学院信息艺术设计系信息设计专业学习,2022年创作毕业设计“廿四元域”,导师付志勇教授。


访谈内容

Q1:
您什么时候开始和元宇宙结缘?

在2021年末的时候有幸与计算机专业的同学合作,接触到了遗传算法相关的有趣知识,碰巧当时大热的区块链游戏“CryptoKitties”也给予我们灵感,我们最终做出了自己的作品“Pixel Spirit”。与“CryptoKitties”相似,我们在游戏中生成的精灵每一个都可以作为加密艺术品呈现。在实践过程中,我们对元宇宙与加密艺术等领域的了解逐步加深,这也成为了我探索加密艺术领域的契机。

pixel spirit是一个可以捕捉并繁育精灵的小游戏,精灵的外观通过遗传算法自动生成,通过用户捕捉、放生和繁育的行为来对精灵赋予权重,从而达到训练和筛选的目的。

Q2:
为什么选择做这个项目?

2022年北京冬奥会开幕式的倒计时环节给了我灵感。在面向国际的舞台上,潜蕴于诗词、二十四节气等文化中的种种中国美学意韵都得到出神入化的展示,让我们看到了数字化为文化遗产带来的无限可能。我想利用元宇宙这个开放多元的平台以及加密艺术历史可追溯的特性,赋予文化遗产在当下更强的生命力。

毕业设计线上展平台呈现:廿四元域是一个在元宇宙平台上的展厅,作者在空间中利用AI技术对二十四节气传统文化进行再创作,探索数字化带来的全新文化遗产演绎方式。

Q3:
作为信息艺术设计专业背景,如何定义元宇宙构建师?

在信息艺术设计系(DEPARTMENT OF INFORMATION ART & DESIGN)学习的知识涉及领域非常广,而且元宇宙本身的概念还在不断被更新完善,很难说从专业背景出发对元宇宙的设计做定义。但是依据我的实践经历和一些案例调研来讲,元宇宙设计是一个能够协助设计师们释放才华和天马行空的想象力的途径。例如:由于不受真实世界中的物理规律约束,在进行场景建模时就可以建造一些传送门啊或者空中花园一类的Fantasy things;在元宇宙中的作品形式也并不受限,动态影像、三维装置都可以在其中得到很好的呈现。


✦ 作品聚焦

Q4:
加密艺术虚拟展示对比传统展示形式的优势?

在元宇宙的概念被提出后,现有元宇宙平台上的虚拟展示空间对比传统线上展厅更多了区块链技术的支持和更丰富的交互手段。在未来 AR/VR 等硬件设备 更加成熟后,元宇宙中的虚拟展厅能够在现实世界基础上对空间进行无限的丰富和延伸。除了强交互与沉浸式的体验,在元宇宙中的文化交融碰撞以及对IP的传播与保护优势更是亮点所在。

Q5:
为何在创作中选用AI作为技术手段?

利用AI作为创作手段的原因有两点,一是由于由于非遗的抽象性,二十四节气单元元素众多。例如立春一个单元包含:迎春花开、玉兰花开、冰雪融化、吃春卷、踏春等等元素。若将这些元素一个个表现出来将会让作品显得僵硬、有拼接感。所以我选择运用人工智能文本-图像生成对抗网络,尝试将这些元素融合起来,形成关于每个节气单元的抽象感觉。

利用 pyTTI 工具生成春分相关作品页面截图

第二个原因是由于运用到的AI技术是开源的工具,对于AI技术的使用并没有增加作品创作的门槛,反而让非艺术专业、无编程背景的人群创作这样的图像作品成为可能。我想通过这样的手段吸引更多人参与到对文化遗产的再创作中来,扩大传播的效果。

Q6:
请问你对毕设作品的一些总结与未来展望?

受限于实现时间,这次的毕业创作只是对文化遗产加密艺术虚拟展示设计进行了初步探索,还有很大的完善空间。在 AI 技术、虚拟展厅的交互设计等细节方面还需要进一 步地学习与实践。例如在展厅内的交互界面还有待完善,将交互界面自然融入在展厅中会使观众体验感更顺畅。

接下来我希望更多人能看到这次的实践呈现效果,并向更多人普及 AI 工具的使用方法,征集作品后在展厅中进行展示。中国传统文化遗产不应被束之高阁,如何吸引广大群众关注并加入传承与创新的队伍中来,是此次创作下一步所关注的问题。

Q7:
您最喜欢的元宇宙设计师/作品?如何获得创作灵感?

接触加密艺术之初给我留下印象最深的作品“The Merge”,由艺术家Pak创作。与其他加密艺术品不同,“The Merge”不再是影像或者游戏,可以被定义为用智能合约编写在区块链上的大众行为艺术,这件艺术品最终的样子由参与其中的每一个人决定。

每个购买者拥有的都是一个小球,这个球的大小根据购买的数量来决定,每个钱包都只能拥有一个小球,当买入第二个球时,两个球就会合并成一个,颜色和体积也会发生变化。

我认为这件作品可以看做是一场艺术民主运动。写在链上的交易记录成为艺术品的一部分,告诉我们艺术品收藏并不是精英阶层才可触碰的东西。
至于创作灵感的获得,回顾之前的作品,我认为两点很重要。一是内容的大量的输入,例如历史上与现在发生的事情、一些科幻作品或者一个游戏中的世界观设定。二是对现有技术的边界与可实现效果的大体认知,就像是作画前要了解颜料与笔刷的特性一个道理。

Q8:
在未来,元宇宙创作与个人发展路径的关系?

我对元宇宙创作,或者说加密艺术的创作的态度很积极。在元宇宙平台和加密艺术兴起的过程中我看到大量优秀的数字艺术品被大家所知,更有数不清的艺术品在元宇宙被激活——被当作收藏品、当作头像或者作为数字资产;我也看到创作艺术品的人群正在扩容,投身加密艺术品创作的不仅只有艺术家,还有很多非艺术背景的人士,为加密艺术带来了活力。
    我喜欢将我的作品发布到opensea平台上,对我而言那不仅仅是一个交易平台,更是对我创作的一种记录。将作品放进collection中写入区块链的感觉很开心。就像是在时间线上画画,看着过往的厚厚一沓记录,心里总会有一种成就感。

Q9:
介绍一本自己想读的书

我想我只能先推荐一本《观看之道》。虽说是1972年出版的,但是作者笔下的艺术评论非常容易读下去,我们也可以了解到近五十年前的人们的观看方式,以及作者对艺术与性别、政治、历史、经济等紧密联系的思考。
前几天很想看并且入手的《艺术哲学读本》读起来有些晦涩,可能由于翻译的原因,并不是很推荐。目前正在寻找下一本想要读的书。


团队介绍

✦ 创意总监 ✦

付志勇

✦ 本科生团队 ✦

李玥霖
刘子驾
徐 寒
苏怡芳
舒予凡
滚动到顶部