Technology for Winter Olympics|Jingwen Xu - Research on the design of virtual reality interactive experience of Olympic heritage

Project Background & Introduction

In the key special project of "Science and Technology for Winter Olympics" of National Key R&D Program, Mr. Fu Zhiyong's team researches the 3D construction and semantic understanding technology of large-scale competition scenes based on multi-source data, and builds a mixed reality e-sandbox and data visualization engine to support the situation of the Winter Olympic Games. Research and build a mixed reality electronic sandbox and data visualization engine to support the visualization of information. To help the main operation center of the Winter Olympic Organizing Committee, the regional command and the command center of each competition venue to fully understand the scene situation, to assist the relevant personnel in the complex environment of cross-regional, cross-level communication and cooperation, for the Winter Olympic Games command system in the event preparation, event operations, opening and closing ceremonies and other scenarios to smoothly carry out security monitoring, logistical support, emergency response to emergencies and other work to provide support.
In February 2022, the team received an official letter of appreciation from the Beijing Winter Olympic Organizing Committee. Since then, the team members have been working on their own designs based on their research results and project experience, and we would like to take this opportunity to introduce the team members and their design works in a series of topics on the Winter Olympics.


Author Bio

Jingwen Xu
Master students

Master of Interdisciplinary Studies, Department of Information Art and Design, Academy of Fine Arts, Tsinghua University, Class of 2019
Bachelor of Business Administration, School of Economics and Management, China Agricultural University, Class of 2015

From Taizhou, Jiangsu Province, she enrolled in the Department of Information Art and Design Interdisciplinary at Tsinghua University School of Fine Arts in 2019, under the supervision of Associate Professor Fu Zhiyong and co-supervisor Associate Professor Yu Chun. During her master's degree, she focuses on the cross-fertilization of art design and new media, exploring the possibility of information interaction and multi-sensory experience. She mainly participated in AI CITY and Technology Winter Olympics projects and published papers, and her project result "A-TOPIA" participated in the global youth creation program and won awards, and was also exhibited in the 2020 Design Future International Exhibition. 2022, she created her graduation work "The Realm of Remembering Olympics" based on the Technology Winter Olympics project.


Interview Content

Q1: When did you get involved with the Technology Winter Olympics?

I have been involved in the project team of the Winter Olympics since 2020, focusing on the sub-project "Mixed Reality-based Winter Olympics Situational Visualization and Consultation Technology", during which I have conducted a series of researches and realized the application transformation, including the preparation of the "Winter Olympics Situational Visualization Interaction and Visual Design Specification", the design and development of the Winter Olympics information screen and During this period, we have conducted a series of research and application transformation, including the preparation of the "Winter Olympic Games Scene Visualization Interaction and Visual Design Specification", the design and development of the Winter Olympic Information Screen and the Genting Snow MR Sandbox, and writing a paper based on the research. Based on the large amount of Olympic-related information materials and related technologies brought by the technology Winter Olympics project, I also found more extendable possibilities and applied them to the subsequent graduation design creation to achieve a more free way to present the combination of content, interaction and experience.

Q2 What are the main issues that your work focuses on?

The digitization of heritage requires consideration not only of the content and form of heritage, the choice of information carrier, the presentation of visual narrative and its relationship with the audience, but also the communication of information, the understanding and reflection of the audience. How to build a heritage experience space for Olympic heritage, evaluate the meaningful expression and perceptual experience through metaphorical design and transformation of interaction paradigm with the help of VR technology, so as to reach the goal of Olympic culture communication and establish the connection of Olympic spirit, is the main problem to be solved in this work.

Q3 The research significance of your work?

On the one hand, we hope to promote the heritage of Olympic heritage out of museums and into daily life, reconstruct and interpret the content of heritage by means of easy and pleasant gamification, and explore the positive effects of Olympic heritage. On the other hand, it gives a virtual space experience design method and paradigm for Olympic heritage, and expands the possibility of digital experience of Olympic heritage, especially for intangible heritage, and can be applied to more types of cultural heritage content.


Q4.
How did you conduct your research in the early stages?

My research revolves around Olympic heritage and multi-sensory experience in virtual space. The Olympic heritage research includes the definition and classification of Olympic heritage, the research and analysis of the handling cases of heritage and the content of each type of heritage, and the formation of Olympic heritage memory signal resource/library. Based on the theory of multi-sensory experience and symbolic metaphor, the construction of virtual space, the perception of virtual space and multi-sensory experience are studied, and the application of virtual space metaphor design methods and associative experience are explored, and then a research model is formed, which lays the theoretical foundation of this work on the virtual interactive experience of heritage.

User research was conducted in the early stage of the design, questionnaire research and workshops were carried out to extensively collect people's knowledge about Olympic heritage and what heritage content people are concerned about. The workshop revolved around my Olympic memories, through brainstorming and using design tools to build the Olympic heritage space and access the Olympic heritage resource base as the basis for the design.


Q5.
What is the specific design process?

At the early stage of design, five major heritage contents were extracted from the Olympic heritage resource base as the themes of five heritage spaces, and then subdivided into a number of images in turn to form the content organization level and information hierarchy of the heritage to be presented in the Olympic memory.

After several iterations of sketching, the spatial design of "Yi'ao Realm" was finalized and further developed into a 3D model. The entire space is composed of five sub-scenes, connected by a central square. Each thematic scene has a different structure according to its metaphorical connotation and experiential tendency. The design elements in the space are derived from the visual transformation of the Olympic culture/memory/resource base, and a number of symbols and information contents are extracted to form the components in the space, and the connotation is explained to the experiencer through the feedback in the interactive process.

The experience flow of the "Memory of Olympics" space is shown in the figure below. The space of Olympic image opens the experience of memory exploration, capturing the Olympic memory fragments of people with different identities in the spiral weightless space, piecing together and restoring the colorful Olympic stories, and witnessing all the Olympic images; the space of Olympic sound opens the experience of visual concert, enjoying the Olympic songs and perceiving the rhythm, atmosphere and emotion of the Olympics in the process of clicking, floating and combining geometric shapes; the space of Olympic pavilion opens the experience of switching scenes in the blind box, bringing freshness and stimulating the desire for exploration between the mapping and switching of the earth and the twisted egg, and perceiving the changes of the previous Olympics and understanding the Olympic Games. The space of Olympic Road opens the experience of celestial movement, based on the control of each "celestial" element by handle operation, restores its real movement state, and conveys the power and beauty of each Olympic project.

The experience cycle of the "Olympic memory" space is gradual, from the overall experience to the medium scene experience to the local experience, which is the process of establishing the relationship between the experience and the "Olympic memory". In the cycle of the overall experience, the experience user can see five scene modules from the viewpoint of the central square, forming a three-dimensional Olympic memory bank; when the user roams to a sub-scene, he/she enters the experience of the medium scene, and the levels of experience are: symbol, metaphor, experience, perception and re-exploration; when the user interacts with the elements in the scene, he/she enters the local experience, and the experience user goes through the process of connection, orientation, interaction, touching and transmission in turn. When the user interacts with each element in the scene, he or she enters into the local experience.


Q6.
What paradigm of virtual space experience design does your research give and how does it integrate with creative practice?

In the process of design practice, I extracted five design patterns: jungle exploration pattern, memory fragment pattern, shape combination pattern, random egg twisting pattern and celestial movement pattern, and applied them in each of the five sub-scenes of "Olympic memory" to provide a usable experience for the Olympic heritage multi-sensory space for youth. The solution includes both the problem to be solved and the desired effect to be obtained, and is applicable to different types of Olympic heritage content.


Q7 How did the prototype of your work come to fruition?

The game engine Unity is used to build the prototype of "Yi'o Realm". After the scene model and dynamic effects are completed in Blender, they are placed in Unity for integration and adjustment, building the environment, writing interaction events, and combining with Oculus' developer mode to assist virtual reality development and realize virtual reality experience.

Q8 Why choose virtual reality technology to assist in research and creation?

Today's world has entered the era of information technology, and with the rapid development of information technology, many new technologies including MR (Mixed Reality), VR (Virtual Reality), AR (Augmented Reality) have been generated. VR differs from MR and AR in its virtual nature, which is a three-dimensional three-dimensional environment generated by the use of computers, a virtual world isolated from reality, which can isolate interference and provide a strong spatial immersion. From the perspective of cross-fertilization of technology and art, the creation and development of VR technology provides a new path for the creation of art beyond the real world in space and time, expanding the dimension of sensory integration and information interaction, and can bring more possibilities for heritage transmission and preservation while creating virtual worlds.


Results show

My graduation work--"Memory of the Olympics" virtual reality interactive experience space, transforming the Olympic heritage into a multi-level information structure, building different interactive experience levels, combining five design modes to form a layered progressive experience cycle, building an immersive interactive space with the help of virtual reality technology, guiding experiencers to explore different metaphors, interpreting the application of multi-sensory space design methods, and evaluating the meaning expression and perception experience of the heritage. The immersive interactive space is constructed with the help of virtual reality technology, guiding the experience participants to explore different metaphorical connotations, interpreting the application of multi-sensory space design methods, and evaluating the meaningful expression and perceptual experience of the heritage.


Q9.
Research Summary

This study summarizes the design method of virtual space multi-sensory experience applicable to heritage conservation based on heritage research, multi-sensory experience research with symbolic metaphor theory and virtual reality technology achievements, and proposes a research model of multi-sensory space for Olympic heritage content. On the basis of this, a model and prototype paradigm of multi-sensory space for Olympic heritage conservation is constructed by combining the creation practice, which provides a new way of thinking for the interpretation and conservation of intangible heritage, explores a natural multi-level interactive experience to mobilize multiple perceptions of people, and provides a reference method case for the inheritance and conservation of more kinds of heritage.

Q10.
Future Outlook

In further research, there are still directions that can be expanded. On the one hand, there are more possibilities for the use and integration of multiple senses in virtual space. In the current scenario, the body senses used are mainly visual, auditory and tactile, while smell and taste also play a great role in the interaction between people and the environment; the emotions and psychology expressed are more positive, while the heritage does not only have positive content, but also negative or negative content, which is also an integral part of the heritage. On the other hand, this interactive experience model can be used for other types of heritage, such as Olympic policy, economic, social and environmental heritage, traditional arts heritage, singing and dancing heritage, agricultural heritage, etc., so as to create richer examples of heritage digitalization, enrich the content of heritage experience, further verify the usefulness of heritage interactive experience model in the process of virtual space experience design, and expand more interactive experience possibilities.


Team Members

Team Leader.
Fu Zhiyong Guan Yan

Team members.
Tao Shu, Gao Songling, Xu Jingwen, Zhang Jin, Lei Jieming, Song Zhengyin, Wang Qirui, Wu Hongfei

Scroll to Top

科技冬奥|徐婧文-奥运遗产的虚拟现实互动体验设计研究

项目背景&介绍

付志勇老师团队在国家重点研发计划“科技冬奥”重点专项课题中,针对北京冬奥会运行指挥保障中跨层级、跨时空多源数据融合和信息呈现的需求,研究基于多源数据的大范围比赛场景三维构建与语义理解技术,研究并构建支持冬奥会态势信息可视化的混合现实电子沙盘和数据可视化引擎。帮助冬奥组委主运行中心、赛区指挥部与各比赛场馆指挥中心充分了解现场态势,协助相关人员进行在复杂环境下的跨区域、跨层级沟通合作,为冬奥会指挥系统在赛事筹备、赛事运行、开闭幕式等场景下顺利开展安全监控、后勤保障、突发事件应急处置等工作提供支撑。
2022年2月团队获北京冬奥组委官方感谢信。在此之后团队成员依托已有研究成果与项目经验各自进行设计创作,借此机会以科技冬奥系列专题对团队成员及设计作品进行介绍。


作者简介

徐婧文
硕士研究生

清华大学美术学院2019级信息艺术设计系交叉学科硕士
中国农业大学经济管理学院2015级工商管理学士

来自江苏泰州,2019年入学清华大学美术学院信息艺术设计系交叉学科,导师付志勇副教授,联合导师喻纯副教授。硕士期间关注艺术设计与新媒体的交叉融合,探索信息交互与多感知体验的可能性。主要参与AI CITY、科技冬奥等项目并发表论文,项目成果《A-TOPIA》参与全球青年创作计划并获奖,同时在2020设计未来国际作品展展出。2022年在科技冬奥项目的基础上创作出毕业作品《忆奥之境》。


访谈内容

Q1:您什么时候和科技冬奥结缘?

我从2020年开始进入到科技冬奥项目组中,重点参与了子项目“基于混合现实的冬奥会态势可视化与会商技术”,期间进行了一系列的研究并实现应用转化,包括《冬奥会场景态势可视化交互与视觉设计规范》的编写、冬奥信息大屏与云顶雪场MR沙盘的设计与开发,并在研究的基础上撰写论文发表。基于科技冬奥项目所带来的大量奥运相关信息资料与相关技术,我也发现了更多可延伸的可能性,并应用到后续的毕业设计创作中,以更自由的方式来实现内容、交互、体验相结合的呈现。

Q2 您的作品主要聚焦的问题是什么?

遗产的数字化,不仅需要考虑遗产内容和形态、信息载体的选择、视觉叙事呈现及其与受众之间的关系,还要考虑到信息的传达、受众的理解与反思。如何针对奥运遗产,借助VR技术,通过隐喻设计和交互范式的转化,构建遗产体验空间,评价意义表达与感知体验,从而达成奥运文化传播的目标,建立奥运精神的连接,这是本作品要解决的主要问题。

Q3 您的作品的研究意义?

一方面是希望可以促进奥运遗产的传承走出博物馆,走进日常生活,以轻松愉快的游戏化的手段重构和解读遗产内容,挖掘奥运遗产的正面效应。另一方面,给出一种面向奥运遗产的虚拟空间体验设计方法及范式,拓展奥运遗产数字化体验的可能性,尤其是对非物质遗产给出解决方案,并可应用于更多类型的文化遗产内容。


Q4:
您在前期如何开展研究?

我的研究围绕奥运遗产与虚拟空间多感知体验展开。奥运遗产研究包括对奥运遗产的界定分类、对遗产的处理案例及各类别遗产内容的调研与分析,形成奥运遗产记忆信号资源/库。基于多感知体验与符号隐喻理论,对虚拟空间的构建、虚拟空间的感知与多感知体验进行研究,挖掘虚拟空间隐喻设计方法及联觉体验的应用,进而形成研究模型,奠定了本作品关于遗产虚拟互动体验的理论基础。

在设计的前期进行了用户研究,开展了问卷调研和工作坊,广泛地收集大家对于奥运遗产的了解情况以及大家所关注的遗产内容是什么。工作坊围绕我的奥运记忆展开,通过头脑风暴与设计工具的使用构建奥运遗产空间,进入奥运遗产资源库,作为设计的依据。


Q5:
具体的设计过程是怎么样的?

在设计的初期,从奥运遗产资源库中抽取出5大项遗产内容作为5个遗产空间的主题,再依次细分成若干意象,形成忆奥之境所要呈现的的遗产的内容组织层次与信息层级。

经过多次的草图迭代,确定了“忆奥之境”的空间设计,并进一步制作成三维模型。整个空间由五个子场景构成,并通过中心广场连接起来。各主题场景依据隐喻内涵与体验倾向的不同,形成了差异化的结构形态。空间中的设计元素来自于对奥运文化/记忆/资源库的视觉转化,抽取出若干符号和信息内容形成空间中的组件,并通过互动过程中的反馈来向体验者阐释内涵。

“忆奥之境”空间的体验流程如下图所示,奥运之火空间开启丛林探索的体验,在寻找和触发的过程中感受奥运圣火的光明照耀与历届火炬传递形成的传承与连接感;奥运之像空间开启记忆探索的体验,在螺旋状的失重空间捕捉不同身份者的奥运记忆碎片,拼凑还原出丰富多彩的奥运故事,见证奥运万象;奥运之音空间开启视觉音乐会的体验,在几何形体点击、浮动、组合的过程中欣赏奥运歌曲,感知奥运的节奏、氛围和情绪;奥运之馆空间开启盲盒式切换场景的体验,在地球和扭蛋的映射和切换间带来新鲜感、激发探索欲,感知历届奥运的变迁、了解各个场馆及该国文化的内涵和魅力;奥运之路空间开启天体运动的体验,基于手柄操作对各“天体”元素进行控制,还原其真实的运动状态,传达各个奥运项目的力量与产生的美感。

“忆奥之境”空间的体验循环是分层渐进的,由整体体验到中等场景体验再到局部体验,这是体验者与“忆奥之境”建立关系的过程。在整体体验的循环中,体验者从中心广场的视角可以看到五个场景模块,形成立体的奥运记忆库;当用户漫游至某一个子场景中,即进入到中等场景的体验中,体验层次为:符号、隐喻、体验、感知、再探索;当用户与场景中的各元素产生互动时,即进入到局部的体验中,体验者依次经过连接、定向、互动、感动、传播的过程,形成完整的体验旅程。


Q6:
您的研究给出了什么样的虚拟空间体验设计范式,是如何与创作实践结合的?

在设计实践的过程中,我提取出了五种设计模式:丛林探索模式、记忆碎片模式、形状组合模式、随机扭蛋模式与天体运动模式,并在“忆奥之境”的五个子场景中分别进行了应用,为面向青少年的奥运遗产多感知空间提供了可使用的体验方案,包括要解决的问题,也包括希望获取的效果,适用于不同类型的奥运遗产内容。


Q7 您的作品原型是如何实现的?

“忆奥之境”采用游戏引擎Unity来进行原型的构建。场景模型及动效在blender中完成后,置入Unity进行整合和调整,搭建环境、编写交互事件,结合Oculus的开发者模式辅助虚拟现实开发并实现虚拟现实体验。

Q8 为什么选择虚拟现实技术辅助研究与创作?

当今的世界进入了信息化的时代,随着信息技术飞速发展,产生了包括MR(混合现实)、VR(虚拟现实)、AR(增强现实)在内的很多新技术,VR不同于MR、AR的地方在于它的虚拟性,它是利用计算机生成的立体三维环境,是与现实相隔离的虚拟世界,能隔绝干扰,提供较强的空间沉浸感。从技术与艺术交叉融合的角度来看,VR技术的产生与发展为艺术的创作提供了超越现实世界的时空新路径,拓展了感官融合、信息交互的维度,在创造虚拟世界的同时,可以为遗产的传承和保护带来更多的可能性。


成果展示

我的毕业作品——“忆奥之境”虚拟现实互动体验空间,将奥运遗产转化为多层次的信息结构,搭建出不同交互体验关卡,结合五种设计模式形成分层渐进的体验循环,借助虚拟现实技术构建沉浸式的互动空间,引导体验者探索不同的隐喻内涵,演绎多感知空间设计方法的应用,评价遗产的意义表达与感知体验。


Q9:
研究总结

本研究针对奥运遗产内容,在遗产研究、多感知体验研究与符号隐喻理论和虚拟现实技术成果的基础上总结出适用于遗产保护的虚拟空间多感知体验设计方法,提出多感知空间的研究模型。在此基础上,结合创作实践,构建出面向奥运遗产保护的多感知空间模型与原型范式,对非物质遗产的阐释和保护提供了一种新思路,探索出一种自然的多层次的交互体验方式来调动人的多重感知,也为更多种类遗产的传承和保护提供可供参考的方法案例。

Q10:
未来展望

在进一步的研究中,仍有可以拓展的方向。一方面,在虚拟空间中,多感知的使用和融合具有更多的可能性。当前的场景中,所使用的身体感觉以视觉、听觉、触觉为主,而嗅觉、味觉在人与环境进行互动交流时同样存在着极大的作用;所表达的情绪与心理更多的是积极正面的内容,而遗产中并不仅仅只有正面的内容,也存在着负面抑或消极的内容,同样是遗产不可或缺的部分。另一方面,这种互动体验模式可以用于其他类别的遗产,例如奥运政策、经济、社会、环保等遗产,传统技艺遗产、歌舞遗产、农业遗产等遗产,从而创造出更加丰富的遗产数字化案例,丰富遗产的体验内容,进一步验证遗产互动体验模式在虚拟空间体验设计过程中的效用,并拓展出更多的互动体验可能性。


团队成员

团队负责人:
付志勇  关琰

团队成员:
陶澍  高松龄  徐婧文  张晋  雷杰茗  宋政垠  王麒瑞 武鸿飞

滚动到顶部