Meta-Universe Project Team|Xue-Mei Yu - "Future Life" Capsule


Project Background

Metaverse

We live in an expanded world that includes the coexistence of real and virtual scenarios. At the same time, the world of communication, dominated by image culture, is transforming into an interactive world in a digitally driven society. As science and technology reach a singularity moment, the Metaverse is revolutionizing the future of society with its unique characteristics. As a new type of Internet application and social form generated by integrating new technologies such as blockchain, Metaverse will bring new opportunities and development, both in the development of new scenarios, new products and services in future digital life and in the upgrading of digitalization, networking and intelligent transformation.
The metaverse is a term used to describe the future iteration of the Internet, consisting of persistent, shared three-dimensional virtual spaces that are linked into a perceptible virtual universe - the next generation of the "physical Internet".
The metaverse breaks the limitations of space and may allow most people to experience world travel virtually, interacting with family members in distant countries with high quality; or learn new technologies directly in a virtual environment, practicing until they master the right way.
In this collective virtual shared space that transcends geographical limitations, we focus our research on a multi-user virtual environment in which users create three-dimensional environments and objects and interact in them with virtual avatars, with the aim of giving experiencers a first-hand experience of the culture and historical heritage of science and technology through architectural composition and historical evolution scenario construction.


Project Description

Metaverse Capsule

This project is led by the Design Future Group of Tsinghua University's Academy of Fine Arts, and aims to explore how the metaverse changes the way we connect, perceive and experience the world around us by constructing a metaverse science popularization vehicle "capsule capsule", trying to refract reality, experience reality, shape reality, improve reality in virtual space, and provide solutions to realistic challenges through virtual experiments. We try to refract reality, experience it, shape it, improve it, and provide solutions to realistic challenges through virtual experiments. Metaverse-related technologies are currently being used in architectural real estate demonstrations, industrial manufacturing processes, and medical research.
We will use the "capsule capsule" carrier and the VR, AR and MR technologies covered by XR to continuously explore the practical application scenarios of the metaverse, so that the experiencer can enter different scenarios and life areas with a new digital identity and interact with different characters, environments and objects, thus studying the new digital civilization generated by the virtual fusion space.
At the same time, we will improve the mobility and accessibility of the capsule, so that more users can have access to the metaverse technology and try to explore whether we can find the entry point to the educational metaverse by improving the physical quality and experience in the virtual world.


✦ Author Bio

Yu Xuemei
Master students

Master's degree in Information Art and Design, Tsinghua University School of Fine Arts, Class of 2020
B.A. in Digital Media Art, Sichuan Academy of Fine Arts

After graduating from Sichuan Fine Arts in 2020, she entered the School of Fine Arts of Tsinghua University to pursue a master's degree. During the epidemic, she came across the concept of "meta-universe" and became curious about it. Driven by her interest, she began to explore the experience of science popularization in digital space, aiming to promote science education and knowledge dissemination with art design, and to play an active role of scientific knowledge in humanistic care and social foresight.


Interview Content

✦ Team Roles

Q1.
What is your role in the team?

"I was in charge of the "Future Life" capsule, a project that explores science experiences in a scenario. On the one hand, I prefer to create visual and creative content, and gardeners can often create works that are relaxing, beautiful, and pleasing to the eye; on the other hand, the theme of the Future Life capsule is related to ecology and nature. On the other hand, the theme of "Future Life" capsule is related to ecology and nature, so how to organize an ecological landscape and play their respective roles is what a "horticulturist" needs to think about; finally, I also hope I can play the artisan spirit of a "horticulturist" and love and polish this "digital land". "Digital land".

Q2.
When did you first become involved with the metaverse?

"The concept of "metaverse" was actually proposed earlier, and I became familiar with it during the epidemic, when China vigorously promoted 5G technology, AI and big data began to access our lives, and VR, AR and other mass-oriented Virtual reality devices such as VR and AR became easily available, all of which provided conditions for the metaverse to take hold. Later, a large number of companies and technology industries announced their entry into the metaverse market, and the term "metaverse" instantly became a hot topic. I would start to aspire to a lifestyle where I could play creatively and explore openly in a world connected to reality through digital means. Right now, the construction of the "metaverse" is still in the planning stage, so every step we take now will be heuristic and exploratory, and may affect the future shape of the metaverse. This is what attracts me to it.

Q3.
As a design professional background, how do you define a meta-universe builder?

As design students, they are responsible for interdisciplinary collaboration, innovation and creativity, and thinking from a "human" perspective. The most important thing for metaverse builders is to build from the level of development strategy, different identities and roles will have different expectations for the metaverse. In the dialogue between different disciplines, we can develop some interesting ideas and gradually move towards a consensual "meta-universe".


✦ Work Focus


Q4.

Was there early meta-universe-like exploration before the meta-universe meta-year arrived?

My mentor, Mr. Fu Zhiyong, has always been very concerned with research in the fields of intelligent product and service design, human-centered city and design future, etc. The "AI City 3.0" series creation is a VR work led by Mr. Fu Zhiyong, which is an immersive experience work on the theme of future AI city development, and is also considered my initiation creation in the context of "meta-universe This is an immersive experience with the theme of future AI city development, and it is also my initiation creation in the context of "meta-universe.

AI City" envisions the integration of AI into human life from the perspectives of access, understanding, interaction, co-creation and enhancement, exploring the impact of AI on human existence in future cities and considering alternative future trends. From the start of the AI City creation project in 2018 to the presentation of the AI City 3.0 virtual space experience in 2021, Mr. Fu led us to develop a design process based on futurological tools to build a reflective future city.

AI City Timeline

Another project is the "Tsinghua x-lab-BMW IT Tech Office Innovation Solutions Joint Challenge Lab", which was jointly launched by Tsinghua x-lab and BMW China at the end of May 2021, where our team built an AR digital vehicle game platform, "The Racing", based on the actual application scenarios of BMW products and services. Our team created an AR digital vehicle game platform - "The Racing" with the background of metaverse. The Racing provides a digital vehicle platform where users can collect, race and trade BMW digital vehicles.

VR and AR technologies are considered to be the carriers of the metaverse into people's lives, they bring newer and more creative ways to display information, and the user experience will break through the boundaries of online and offline scenarios. Later we developed demos for real-world games, combined with AR ranging function to generate tracks in real time in real environment, further integrating virtual and reality from visual level.

Q5.
Why did you choose the theme of "Future Life" as the theme of the capsule?

Life science is identified as the core science of the 21st century, and it may even change the future towards which humanity is about to move. However, there is a high threshold of expertise in life sciences, and there is no suitable way to learn life science related knowledge even for the youth groups who have a strong curiosity to explore the world.

 The "Future Life" capsule cabin will combine art design and scientific knowledge to build a new form of science education space for youth groups through beauty, where we will popularize complex and specialized life sciences to youth groups through knowledge learning and design practice, cultivate youth active learning We will promote the combination of science and social humanities, and empower science education with digital art.

Q6.
What are your favorite metaverse designers/works? How do you get inspired to create in the metaverse?

In the course of "Interaction Design (1)", I had the opportunity to listen to Ms. Jiaying Liu's sharing and was impressed by her work "Sound Money". Sound Money" is a series of works that analyzed the data of Ether blockchain transactions, selected the most active 1,000 players in the field of CryptoArt, and airdropped the denomination of "$1000" to these Ether addresses. " cryptocurrency.
In Ms. Jiaying's work, I see her thinking about "value", "transaction" and "flow", and this work has always reminded me that in the exploration of the meta-universe, it is important to stay This work also keeps reminding me to stay awake in the exploration of the metaverse and always think about what should be our concern.

Q7.
What are your plans for the next phase of your project research?

Next I will focus on the visual presentation of the "Future Life" capsule. In the previous phase, I divided the capsule into four parts through the 5E inquiry method: immersive digital space, knowledge learning UI, props and creation unit. I will explore a digital space with a clear and concise knowledge structure that meets the preferences of young people by combining discursive and science fiction art, so that design can contribute to life science, and to promote the value and charm of this emerging discipline to the public.

Q8.
Recommend a book to your readers?

I would like to recommend "How We Became Posthuman" to you. As we gradually accept and aspire to the digital world, human beings have been marching towards the "post-human" era. At a time when the meta-universe is on fire, we should calm down a little and think about some basic questions: What are body, consciousness, machine, and gender? How do they relate to each other? Where will the "body" go in the future? The author gives us a comprehensive overview of thinking about the "body" in the information age, which will give us new insights into the future of humanity.


Team Introduction

✦✦ Creative Director ✦✦

Fu Zhiyong

✦✦ PhD Student Team ✦✦

Zhang Jin
Li Yin
Chen Entertainment
Zhao Jiru
Zhu Lin

✦✦ Master's Student Team ✦✦

Wu Yidan
Yu Xuemei
Huang Weilan
Huang Weilan
Wu Hongfei
Wang Qirui
Scroll to Top

元宇宙项目团队|于雪梅 – “未来生命”胶囊舱


项目背景

元宇宙

我们生活在一个扩展的世界里,包括现实和虚拟场景的共存。与此同时,以图像文化为主导的传播世界正在向数字驱动社会中的互动世界转变。伴随着科学技术迎来奇点时刻,元宇宙 (Metaverse)以其独有特征使得未来社会发生革命性变革。元宇宙作为整合区块链等新技术产生的新型互联网应用和社会形态,无论是在未来数字生活中新场景、新产品及新服务的开发方面,还是在数字化、网络化、智能化转型的升级方面,都将带来全新的机遇与发展。
元宇宙作为一个描述互联网未来迭代概念的术语,由持久的、共享的三维虚拟空间组成,由此链接成一个可感知的虚拟宇宙——下一代“实体互联网”。
元宇宙打破了空间的局限,可能让大多数人能够虚拟地体验世界旅行,与身处遥远国家的家人进行高质量的互动;或是在虚拟环境中直接学习新技术,不断练习,直到掌握了正确的方法。
在这个超越地理限制的集体虚拟共享空间中,我们将研究重点置于一个多用户虚拟环境,用户在其中创造三维环境与物体,并以虚拟化身在其中产生互动,其目的是通过建筑构成和历史演变场景构建来让体验者亲身感受科普文化、历史遗产。


项目描述

元宇宙胶囊舱

本项目由清华大学美术学院设计未来课题组主导,旨在通过构建元宇宙科普载体“胶囊舱”,探索元宇宙如何改变我们连接、感知和体验周围世界的方式,尝试在虚拟空间中折射现实、体验现实、塑造现实、改进现实,并通过虚拟实验为现实挑战提供解决方案。元宇宙相关领域技术目前已经引用于建筑房地产的演示,工业生产加工,以及医疗研究。
我们将利用“胶囊舱”载体以及XR所涵盖的VR、AR、MR技术,持续探寻元宇宙的实际应用场景,使体验者以全新化数字身份进入不同场景及生活领域,在不同角色、环境、物品之间互动,从而研究由虚拟融合空间产生的新数字文明。
同时,我们将提高“胶囊舱”的机动性,提高体验的可达性,让更多用户可以接触到元宇宙技术,尝试探索能否通过提高虚拟世界中的物理质量与体验,从而找寻教育元宇宙切入点。


✦ 作者简介

于雪梅
硕士研究生

清华大学美术学院2020级信息艺术设计专业硕士在读
四川美术学院数字媒体艺术学士学位

2020年川美毕业后进入清华大学美术学院攻读硕士学位。疫情期间接触到“元宇宙“概念并产生好奇,在兴趣的驱使下开始探索数字空间中的科普体验,旨在以艺术设计促进科普教育、知识传播,发挥科学知识在人文关怀、社会预见中的积极作用。


访谈内容

✦ 团队角色

Q1:
您在团队中扮演的角色?

“元宇宙胶囊舱”是一个在情景中探索科普体验的项目,我负责的是“未来生命”胶囊舱。在团队中我认为自己担任的是“园艺师“的角色,一方面我比较喜欢视觉、创意内容的创作,园艺师往往可以创作出轻松、美好,并且赏心悦目的作品;另一方面,“未来生命”胶囊舱的主题本身跟生态、自然有关系,如何组织一个生态景观、发挥它们各自的作用,这都是“园艺师”需要思考的;最后,我也希望自己能够发挥“园艺师”的匠人精神,热爱并打磨这一片“数字土地”。

Q2:
您什么时候开始和元宇宙结缘?

“元宇宙”的提出其实比较早,而我对“元宇宙”概念渐渐熟悉起来是在疫情期间,那段时间中国大力推广5G技术,AI、大数据开始接入我们的生活,VR、AR等面向大众的虚拟现实设备变得易得,这些都为元宇宙的落地提供条件。再后来大批企业、科技行业纷纷宣布入局元宇宙市场,“元宇宙”一词瞬间成为热点话题,我会开始向往这样一种生活方式:通过数字的手段,在一个与现实连通的世界里能够创造性地游玩、开放式的探索。现在, “元宇宙”的构建还处于规划阶段,所以我们当下的每一步行动都将是启发式的、探索性的,都有可能影响元宇宙未来的形态,我们应该如何通向一个合意的“元宇宙”?这是它所吸引我的地方。

Q3:
作为设计专业背景,如何定义元宇宙构建师?

作为设计专业背景的学生,肩负着发挥设计师跨学科合作的能力、创新创意能力、以及从“人类”视角出发进行思考的责任。元宇宙构建师最重要的是要从发展战略的层面上进行构建,不同身份、不同角色的人会对元宇宙有不同的期待,作为设计师应当要发挥跨学科合作的能力、融合各方资源,将设计师、行业专家、学者、艺术家、科学家等不同身份的人群聚集到一起,支持共创、探索元宇宙方向,在不同学科的对话中发展出一些有趣的创意,并逐步走向合意的“元宇宙”。


✦ 作品聚焦


Q4:

在元宇宙元年到来前,是否进行过早期的类元宇宙探索?

我的导师付志勇老师一直以来都非常关注智能产品与服务设计、人本城市与设计未来等领域的研究,《AI City 3.0》系列创作是付志勇老师带领我们创作的VR作品,这是以未来人工智能城市发展为主题的的沉浸式体验作品,也算是我在“元宇宙”背景下的启蒙创作。

《AI City》从接入、理解、 互动、共创以及提升等角度,构想人工智能融入人类生活的情景,探讨未来城市人工智能对人类生存的影响并思考可替代的未来趋势。从2018年开始启动《AI City》的创作项目到2021年《 AI City 3.0》 的虚拟空间体验版呈现,付老师带领我们基于未来学工具开发了一套设计流程来构建具有反思性的未来城市。

AI City 时间线

另一个项目是2021年5月底参加的清华 x-lab 联合宝马中国共同推出的“清华 x-lab—宝马 IT Tech Office 创新解决方案联合挑战实验室”,我们团队围绕宝马产品及服务的实际应用场景,以元宇宙为背景打造了一个AR数字车辆游戏平台——“The Racing”, 通过数字车辆、AR游戏吸引“Z世代”的年轻用户,将用户线上资产直接兑换为实体购车优惠。The Racing 提供了一种数字车辆的使用平台,用户可以收集宝马数字车辆、竞赛、交易。

VR 和 AR 技术被认为是元宇宙进入人们生活的载体,他们带来了更新、更具创造力的信息展示方式,用户体验也将突破线上和线下的场景束缚。后来我们开发了实景游戏的demo,结合AR测距功能在真实环境中实时生成赛道,从视觉层面进一步融合虚拟与现实。

Q5:
本次为什么选择“未来生命”主题作为胶囊舱主题?

生命科学被认定为21世纪的核心科学,它甚至可能改变人类即将走向的未来。但生命科学的知识专业门槛高,即使是对探索世界有强烈好奇心的青少年群体也没有合适的途径可以学习到生命科学相关的知识。

 “未来生命”胶囊舱将通过艺术设计与科学知识结合的方法,以美为介面向青少年群体构建一种新形式的科普教育空间,在这里我们将通过知识学习、设计实践的方式将复杂难懂、专业度高的生命科学普及给青少年群体,培养青少年主动学习、终身学习的意识以及科学探究的素养,提升青少年的综合素质,以促进科学与社会人文的结合,以数字艺术赋能科普教育。

Q6:
您最喜欢的元宇宙设计师/作品?在元宇宙创作中如何获得创作中灵感?

在《交互设计(1)》的课程中有幸听过刘嘉颖老师的分享,对她的作品 “Sound Money” 的作品印象深刻。“Sound Money”系列作品是通过分析以太坊区块链交易数据,将加密艺术(CryptoArt)领域最活跃的一千名玩家筛选出来,并向这些以太坊地址空投了面额为“1000美元”的加密货币。
在嘉颖老师的作品中,我看到了她对“价值”、“交易”、“流量”的思考,这个作品也一直提醒着我 ,在元宇宙的探索中要保持清醒,时刻思考什么东西应当被我们所关注。

Q7:
下一阶段,您对项目研究的规划?

接下来我将着重进行“未来生命”胶囊舱的视觉呈现。在上一阶段我通过 5E 的探究方法将胶囊舱分为四个部分:沉浸式的数字空间、知识学习UI、道具和创作单元。我将结合思辨、科幻艺术,探索一种知识结构清晰简洁的、又符合青少年喜好的数字空间,让设计为生命科学助力,向大众科普这门新兴学科的价值与魅力。

Q8:
给读者推荐一本书?

我想给大家推荐的是《我们何以成为后人类》。当我们逐渐接受并向往数字世界,人类已经向“后人类”时代进军。在元宇宙大火的当下,我们应当稍微冷静下来思考一些基本问题:什么是身体、意识、机器、性别?他们的关系是怎样的?未来“身体”将去往何处?作者为我们全面梳理了信息时代的对“身体”的思考,读完会对人类的未来有新的见解。


团队介绍

✦ 创意总监 ✦

付志勇

✦ 博士生团队 ✦

张 晋
李 寅
陈 娱
赵季儒
朱 琳

✦ 硕士生团队 ✦

邬艺丹
于雪梅
黄尉岚
黄尉岚
武鸿飞
王麒瑞
滚动到顶部