Meta Universe Project Team|Li Yin-Science Capsule Warehouse Design

Pictures

Project Background

Metaverse

We live in an expanded world that includes the coexistence of real and virtual scenarios. At the same time, the world of communication, dominated by image culture, is transforming into an interactive world in a digitally driven society. As science and technology reach a singularity moment, the Metaverse is revolutionizing the future of society with its unique characteristics. As a new type of Internet application and social form generated by integrating new technologies such as blockchain, Metaverse will bring new opportunities and development, both in the development of new scenarios, new products and services in future digital life and in the upgrading of digitalization, networking and intelligent transformation.

The metaverse is a term used to describe the future iteration of the Internet, consisting of persistent, shared three-dimensional virtual spaces that are linked into a perceptible virtual universe - the next generation of the "physical Internet".

The metaverse breaks the limitations of space and may allow most people to experience world travel virtually, interacting with family members in distant countries with high quality; or learn new technologies directly in a virtual environment, practicing until they master the right way.

In this collective virtual shared space that transcends geographical limitations, we focus our research on a multi-user virtual environment in which users create three-dimensional environments and objects and interact in them with virtual avatars, with the aim of giving experiencers a first-hand experience of the culture and historical heritage of science and technology through architectural composition and historical evolution scenario construction.

Project Description

Metaverse Capsule

This project is led by the Design Future Group of Tsinghua University's Academy of Fine Arts, and aims to explore how the metaverse changes the way we connect, perceive and experience the world around us by constructing a metaverse science popularization vehicle "capsule capsule", trying to refract reality, experience reality, shape reality, improve reality in virtual space, and provide solutions to realistic challenges through virtual experiments. We try to refract reality, experience it, shape it, improve it, and provide solutions to realistic challenges through virtual experiments. Metaverse-related technologies are currently being used in architectural real estate demonstrations, industrial manufacturing processes, and medical research.

We will use the "capsule capsule" carrier and the VR, AR and MR technologies covered by XR to continuously explore the practical application scenarios of the metaverse, so that the experiencer can enter different scenarios and life areas with a new digital identity and interact with different characters, environments and objects, thus studying the new digital civilization generated by the virtual fusion space.

At the same time, we will improve the mobility and accessibility of the capsule, so that more users can have access to the metaverse technology and try to explore whether we can find the entry point to the educational metaverse by improving the physical quality and experience in the virtual world.

 ✦ 

Author BioPictures

Li Yin

 Doctoral students 

Tsinghua University, College of Fine Arts, Class of 2019, PhD in Design

Master of Interdisciplinary Studies, Department of Information Art and Design, Academy of Fine Arts, Tsinghua University, Class of 2012

B.A. in New Media, 2004, School of Art, Renmin University of China

He graduated from the School of Arts of Renmin University of China with a Bachelor's degree in New Media, and graduated from Tsinghua University with a Master's degree in 2015 from the Department of Information Art and Design Interdisciplinary, School of Fine Arts of Tsinghua University, supervised by Associate Professor Fu Zhiyong and co-advised by Professor Cui Baoguo.

His master's research focuses on service design and collaborative innovation, and his doctoral research focuses on future-oriented design methods for scenario building.

In 2019, he won the title of Guanghua Dragon Award - Top Ten Outstanding Young People in China's Service Design Industry, and in the same year, he was nominated for the Guanghua Dragon Award - Top Ten Outstanding Young People in China's Design Industry.

Interview Content

✦ 

Personal Background

Q1.

What is your role in the team?

PreferenceMarketingandBusiness ConsultantThe role of the group, the effective transformation of the design results of the subject group. Find the intersection of design innovation and market trends, promote design practice on the ground, and explore new directions for product services.

Q2.

When did you first become involved with the metaverse?

I think it started in '21, when Mr. Fu's master courses, international workshops and some innovation competitions started to involve the concept of metaverse theme, and the collaboration between the group and Roblox platform also made me gradually pay attention to the creative process and tools of designers related to the metaverse field.

Q3.

 As a cross-disciplinary professional background, how do you define the identity of a meta-universe builder?

The definition of metaverse (web3.0) in a broad sense determines that metaverse builders will involve practitioners with multidisciplinary backgrounds, not just the work of computer scientists and virtual modeling renderers superimposed. The development trend of metaverse will be gradually applied in various vertical tracks of clothing, food, housing, transportation, education, and healthcare after the XR technology is further stabilized. Industry stakeholders will work with the underlying technology builders, top-level policy makers, and core user groups to build the metaverse. In the meta-universe era, theThe interaction designer community, as the translator between users and services, needs stronger empathy and technical understanding.Collaborate with interdisciplinary teams to be better as a meta-universe builder.

✦ 

Work Focus

Q4.Before the arrival of the first year of the meta-universeWas early exploration of the meta-like universe undertaken?

 Answer.

If from the perspective of interaction design, previously involved in the design of many digital projects based on 3D, VR/AR technology, coveringGames, transportation, architectural landscapeThe field. From a service design perspective, I have been involved in the construction of many schools of the future, including the promotion of many virtual simulation innovation labs. From my personal point of view, many interactive media projects, including data visualization and digital twin projects, are very close to the metaverse concept. Especially the character customization system and social and payment system in the top game platform play a good underlying cognition for everyone to popularize the metaverse concept.Pictures

Figure 1 Science VR works "Faraday Laboratory

In addition, my master's MVP explored a team collaboration platform based on the combination of virtual and real technology, using the video image technology at that time to make remote collaboration more efficient and artistic. At that time, I actually envisioned a virtual scenario similar to Microsoft's xbox platform with avatars for remote communication and collaboration, but I finally finished my MVP with a video image immersive perspective.Pictures

Figure 2 Co-matrix conceptual designPictures

Figure 3 Co-matrix GUI designPictures

Fig. 4 Beijing International Design Week 2014 exhibition site, remote interaction with the classroom of the Academy of Fine Arts and co-creation

Q5.Why do meta-universe science capsule storage?

 Answer.

One level isThe concept of metaverse itself needs to be popularized, need to reach more young people to understand the development trend of this Internet and IoT complex. The concept of online informal learning space has also gained recognition from museums, science centers, schools, parents and students with the frequency of force majeure events, and metaverse science is an opportunity and a new carrier. Another dimension is that in the future metaverse eco-matrixThe physical interaction space that integrates multiple XR devices is one of the meta-universe scenario interfaces worth exploring to link the real world and the illusionary world. Just like the concept of the operating silo in the "Top Gun" movie, users need a cockpit or a more immersive physical space to enter the metaverse world. As a modular device that can be moved and quickly deployed, the concept of science capsule bin is not innovative, like the science caravan has a long history of development in China, the metaverse science capsule bin has the characteristics of a new era carrier that traditional science caravans do not have in terms of user immersion and multimodal knowledge dissemination interaction. It is indispensable.Pictures

Figure 5 "Top Gun" movie concept map

✦ 

Results and Prospects

Q6.

What are your favorite metaverse designers/works? How do you get inspired to create in the metaverse?

       I believe that people have a basic understanding of the meta-universe more from news, movies and games to get some ideas and understanding. Personally, I prefer to think about the development of metaverse trends from games.Cyberpunk 2077It is my favorite open console game in the past two years, and I am very impressed by the game's worldview setting and story line. In a disorderly near-future in search of a new order, experience different classes of multiple attributes of game characters, so that users reflect on the attributes mapped to the game incarnation, will make you reflect on the future meta-universe "original sin" and "dream".

Q7.

What are your plans for the next phase of your project research?

       I think we may focus on the rapid development and popularity of AR smart glasses technology to explore more multiverse illusion and real world interface scenarios. The goal is to explore and build more scenarios through text narratives with the future in mind, to seamlessly integrate users, technology, services, and scenarios in a multifaceted way, and to explore new ideas of metaverse design.

Q8.

In the future, how does metaverse creation relate to personal development paths?

Due to the limitations of technology development at this stage, perhaps the real landing of the metaverse is still far in the future. But before the technology singularity comes, designers can create more stories and look forward to more possibilities. Whether it is metaverse, X-universe or Y-universe, they are all "containers" for creativity, and there may be many variations of "containers", but it is always a platform for us to present the value of our thinking. "I believe that personal development cannot be truly separated from the essence of the metaverse, and at different points of time, we can use platforms or tools to maximize the meaning of design.

Q9.

Please recommend a book to the reader.

I'd like to share four books with you: Buckminster The Design Revolution: A Manual for Operating the Earthship, Liang Sicheng A History of Architecture in Pictorial China, James Scott's Perspectives on the State, and Horowitz's Entrepreneurial Vulnerability.Pictures

There are two pamphlets that I really, really like after reading the blog. I personally think that this design scientist, who can be called a contemporary Leonardo da Vinci, started to call for sustainable development in the 1960s with his visionary insight, and discussed the "community of human destiny", and to this day, his writings and works are worthy of our repeated consideration and study.

In addition, I personally cherish this hand-drawn book "The History of Chinese Architecture in Images" by Liang Sicheng. Every time I open this hand-drawn book, it is full of shock, although I am looking at the Chinese re-run, I can still feel the confidence and momentum of the original English version of the book to spread Chinese traditional culture to the Western world. Each beautiful hand-drawn picture in English and Chinese will make me stand in awe, remove my irritable heart, return to my humble heart, and re-start the path of learning.

I recommend "Perspectives on the State" by James Scott. The author tries to take you on the shoulders of those national planners to see how projects that try to improve the human condition fail. After reading this book, you will have new insights when you try to understand Corbusier's Chandigarh apartment complex project in India.

Finally this book Horowitz's "Entrepreneurship is difficult" would like to give me to myself to reread, when I felt that entrepreneurship so bitter to see more bitter. Today, in the year 2022, when the epidemic is raging and the policy is optimized, I wonder if I will be able to taste a hint of sweetness.

Team Introduction

✦✦ Creative Director ✦✦Pictures

Fu Zhiyong

✦✦ PhD Student Team ✦✦Pictures

Zhang JinPictures

Li YinPictures

Chen EntertainmentPictures

Zhao JiruPictures

Zhu Lin

✦✦ Master's Student Team ✦✦Pictures

Wu YidanPictures

Yu XuemeiPictures

Huang WeilanPictures

Yang BolinPictures

Wu HongfeiPictures

Wang Qirui

Scroll to Top

元宇宙项目组|李寅-科普胶囊仓设计

图片

项目背景

元宇宙

我们生活在一个扩展的世界里,包括现实和虚拟场景的共存。与此同时,以图像文化为主导的传播世界正在向数字驱动社会中的互动世界转变。伴随着科学技术迎来奇点时刻,元宇宙 (Metaverse)以其独有特征使得未来社会发生革命性变革。元宇宙作为整合区块链等新技术产生的新型互联网应用和社会形态,无论是在未来数字生活中新场景、新产品及新服务的开发方面,还是在数字化、网络化、智能化转型的升级方面,都将带来全新的机遇与发展。

元宇宙作为一个描述互联网未来迭代概念的术语,由持久的、共享的三维虚拟空间组成,由此链接成一个可感知的虚拟宇宙——下一代“实体互联网”。

元宇宙打破了空间的局限,可能让大多数人能够虚拟地体验世界旅行,与身处遥远国家的家人进行高质量的互动;或是在虚拟环境中直接学习新技术,不断练习,直到掌握了正确的方法。

在这个超越地理限制的集体虚拟共享空间中,我们将研究重点置于一个多用户虚拟环境,用户在其中创造三维环境与物体,并以虚拟化身在其中产生互动,其目的是通过建筑构成和历史演变场景构建来让体验者亲身感受科普文化、历史遗产。

项目描述

元宇宙胶囊舱

本项目由清华大学美术学院设计未来课题组主导,旨在通过构建元宇宙科普载体“胶囊舱”,探索元宇宙如何改变我们连接、感知和体验周围世界的方式,尝试在虚拟空间中折射现实、体验现实、塑造现实、改进现实,并通过虚拟实验为现实挑战提供解决方案。元宇宙相关领域技术目前已经引用于建筑房地产的演示,工业生产加工,以及医疗研究。

我们将利用“胶囊舱”载体以及XR所涵盖的VR、AR、MR技术,持续探寻元宇宙的实际应用场景,使体验者以全新化数字身份进入不同场景及生活领域,在不同角色、环境、物品之间互动,从而研究由虚拟融合空间产生的新数字文明。

同时,我们将提高“胶囊舱”的机动性,提高体验的可达性,让更多用户可以接触到元宇宙技术,尝试探索能否通过提高虚拟世界中的物理质量与体验,从而找寻教育元宇宙切入点。

 ✦ 

作者简介图片

李 寅

 博士研究生 

清华大学美术学院2019级设计学博士在读

清华大学美术学院2012级信息艺术设计系交叉学科硕士

中国人民大学艺术学院2004级新媒体专业学士

本科毕业于中国人民大学艺术学院新媒体专业,2015年硕士毕业于清华大学美术学院信息艺术设计系交叉学科,导师付志勇副教授,联合导师崔保国教授。

硕士研究方向为服务设计与协同创新,博士研究方向为面向未来的情景建构设计方法研究。

2019年荣获光华龙腾奖·中国服务设计行业十大杰出青年称号,同年获得光华龙腾奖·中国设计行业十大杰出青年提名。

访谈内容

✦ 

个人背景

Q1:

您在团队中扮演的角色?

偏向市场推广商务顾问的角色,把课题组的设计成果有效转化。寻找设计创新与市场趋势的交叉点,推动设计实践落地,探索产品服务新方向。

Q2:

您什么时候开始和元宇宙结缘?

应该是21 年开始的,当时付老师的硕士课程、国际工作坊以及一些创新大赛开始涉及到元宇宙主题概念,课题组与 Roblox 平台的合作也让我逐渐关注元宇宙领域相关设计师的创作流程和工具。

Q3:

 作为交叉学科专业背景,如何定义元宇宙构建师的身份?

广义上的元宇宙(web3.0)的定义就决定了元宇宙构建师会有多学科背景的从业者参与,不仅仅是计算机科学家和虚拟建模渲染师的工作叠加。元宇宙的发展趋势在 XR 技术的进一步稳定后会逐步应用在衣、食、住、行、教育、医疗的各个垂直赛道的细分场景。行业利益相关人会和底层技术构建者、顶层政策制定者、核心用户群体一起构建元宇宙。在元宇宙时代,交互设计师群体作为用户与服务之间的翻译机,需要更强有力的同理心和技术理解能力,与跨学科团队协作,才能更好的成为一个元宇宙构建者。

✦ 

作品聚焦

Q4:在元宇宙元年到来前,是否进行过早期的类元宇宙探索?

 答:

如果从交互设计的视角,之前参与过很多基于3D、VR/AR技术的数字项目设计,涵盖游戏、交通、建筑景观领域。从服务设计的视角,参与了很多未来学校的建设,其中推动了很多虚拟仿真创新实验室的建设。从我个人角度来看很多互动媒体项目,包括数据可视化与数字孪生项目很接近元宇宙概念了。尤其顶级游戏平台中的角色自定义系统和社交、支付系统对大家普及元宇宙概念起到了很好的底层认知。图片

图1 Science VR作品《法拉第实验室》

另外我硕士毕设当年探索的是基于虚实结合技术的团队协作平台,利用当时的视频图像技术,让远程协作更高效更艺术。当时其实设想过类似微软 xbox 平台的化身人偶在一个虚拟场景中进行远程沟通协作,但最终还是以视频图像沉浸式的角度完成了毕设的 MVP。图片

图 2 Co-matrix 概念设计图片

图 3 Co-matrix GUI设计图片

图 4 2014北京国际设计周展览现场,与美院课堂远程互动共创

Q5:为什么要做元宇宙科普胶囊仓?

 答:

一个层面是元宇宙概念本身需要科普,需要惠及更多青少年去了解这个互联网与物联网综合体的发展趋势。在线非正式学习空间的概念也随着不可抗力事件的频发,获得了博物馆、科学中心、学校、家长与学生的认可,元宇宙科普是契机也是新载体。另一个层面是在未来元宇宙生态矩阵中,整合多种 XR设备的物理交互空间是值得探索的链接实境与幻境的元宇宙情景接口之一。就像“头号玩家”电影中的操作仓概念,用户需要一个驾驶舱或者沉浸感更强的物理空间进入元宇宙世界。作为一个可移动可快速布展的模块装置,科普胶囊仓的概念并不创新,像科普大篷车在国内有很悠久的发展历史,元宇宙科普胶囊仓在用户沉浸感和多模态知识传播互动上具有传统科普大篷车所不具备的新时代载体特征,作为元宇宙落地普及的创新新基建的一个节点环节,元宇宙科普胶囊仓必不可少。图片

图5 《头号玩家》电影概念图

✦ 

成果与展望

Q6:

您最喜欢的元宇宙设计师/作品?在元宇宙创作中如何获得创作中灵感?

       我相信大家对元宇宙的基本理解更多是从新闻、电影和游戏中获得一些观念和理解。我个人更愿意从游戏中去思考元宇宙的趋势发展。《赛博朋克2077》是我这两年比较喜欢的开放主机平台游戏,游戏世界观的设定与故事线给我很深刻的印象。在一个无序中寻找新秩序的近未来,体验不同阶层多元属性的游戏角色,使用户反思属性映射到游戏化身,会让你反思未来元宇宙的“原罪”与“梦想”。

Q7:

下一阶段,您对项目研究的规划?

       我想可能会重点基于 AR 智能眼镜技术的快速发展与普及,探索更多元宇宙幻境与实境的接口情景。目标以未来为中心,通过文本叙事去探索和构建更多的情景,把用户、技术、服务、场景多元无缝的融合在一起,探索元宇宙设计新思路。

Q8:

在未来,元宇宙创作与个人发展路径的关系?

由于现阶段技术发展的限制,也许元宇宙的真正落地还在较远的未来。但在技术奇点来临前,设计师们可以创造更多的故事,可以去展望更多的可能性。无论是元宇宙、X宇宙还是Y宇宙,它们都是承载创意的“容器”,也许“容器”会存在多种变体,但它始终是我们呈现思维价值的平台。“人不能两次踏进同一条河流”,我相信,个人的发展是无法真正意义上脱离元宇宙本质的,在不同时间节点,我们都能够借助平台或工具,实现设计意义的最大化。

Q9:

请给读者推荐一本书。

给大家分享四本书吧,分别是:巴克敏斯特 《设计革命:地球号操作手册》、梁思成 《图像中国建筑史》手绘图、詹姆斯·斯科特的《国家的视角》和霍洛维茨的 《创业维艰》。图片

读博后,有两本小册子我非常非常喜欢。一是巴克敏斯特的那本地球号操作手册,我个人认为这位可以称之为当代达芬奇的设计科学家,用极富远见的洞察在上世纪 60 年代就开始呼吁可持续发展,探讨“人类命运共同体”,直到今天,他的著作与作品都值得我们反复思考与学习。

另外个人很珍视梁思成的这本《图像中国建筑史》手绘图,每次翻开这本手绘图,满满震撼,虽然看的是中文再办,还是能感受到原书英文版向西方世界传播中国传统文化的自信与气势。每一篇精美的中英文标注的手绘都会让我肃然起敬,除去我烦躁之心,回归谦逊之心,重踏求学之路。

推荐一本詹姆斯·斯科特的《国家的视角》。作者尝试带你站到那些国家规划者的肩膀上,去看看那些试图改善人类状况的的项目是如何失败的,看完此书,再去揣摩柯布西耶在印度的昌迪加尔公寓大楼项目,你会有新的洞察。

最后这本霍洛维茨的《创业维艰》想送给我自己重读,当年觉着创业那么苦了看了更苦。今天在疫情肆虐与政策优化的2022年,不知道会不会品出一丝甜意。

团队介绍

✦ 创意总监 ✦图片

付志勇

✦ 博士生团队 ✦图片

张 晋图片

李 寅图片

陈 娱图片

赵季儒图片

朱 琳

✦ 硕士生团队 ✦图片

邬艺丹图片

于雪梅图片

黄尉岚图片

杨博琳图片

武鸿飞图片

王麒瑞

滚动到顶部