Tsinghua Academy of Fine Arts Students and Faculty Attend Sense City Design Workshop in Tsukuba, Japan

From September 2 to 8, 2018, a workshop on sensual urban design ("Kansei in future cities" workshop) was successfully held at the University of Tsukuba, Japan, in cooperation with the faculty and students of Tsinghua University School of Fine Arts. The workshop was led by Associate Professor Fu Zhiyong from the Department of Information Art and Design, Tsinghua University School of Fine Arts, and 11 undergraduate students from Tsinghua University School of Fine Arts majoring in information design and 8 students from the University of Tsukuba participated in the workshop and design practice.

On the first day of the workshop, Ms. Lee Seung-hee gave a lecture on sensual design
Mr. Fu Zhiyong gave a lecture on urban interaction design
Professor Kei Ota, Dean of the Department of Art, University of Tsukuba, also participated in the opening ceremony and gave a speech
Mayor of Tsukuba City, Tachio Igarashi, introduced the future city plan for Tsukuba construction
Students and teachers of the two schools with the Mayor of Tsukuba City after the launch ceremony

The workshop aimed to inspire students to combine the perspective of perceptual design with the goal of sustainable development in Tsukuba, and to provide creative solutions for the future development of the city by integrating design and technology. In the opening lecture of the workshop, Associate Professor SeungHee Lee of Tsukuba University gave a lecture on sensual design, Associate Professor Fu Zhiyong of Tsinghua University explained cases and methods of urban interactive design, Mr. Tatsuo Igarashi, Mayor of Tsukuba City, explained the vision of Tsukuba City, and Professor Kei Ota, Dean of the Department of Art of Tsukuba University, also gave a speech. Professor Kei Ota, Dean of the Department of Art, University of Tsukuba, also participated in the opening ceremony and gave a speech. The workshop participants were divided into five groups, each including students from Tsinghua and Tsukuba, and worked in teams to research public spaces, technology centers and innovative institutions in Tsukuba.

In the following schedule, the student team combined their field experience in Tsukuba City to identify and summarize the problems and development space for Tsukuba City at this stage, and to complete the preliminary design positioning. Through the communication with the teachers, the design ideas were iterated and relevant design prototypes and solutions were produced.

Departed for Tsukuba city center to conduct field research
The students iterated the program based on the results of their research
Preliminary demonstration of creativity
Associate Professor Fu Zhiyong gave a review

The course presentation took place on September 7, 2018 at the Tsukuba University General Research Building D. The final presentation was made by each group. After each group's presentation, they received questions and comments from the faculty and students, and the discussion was cordial and lively.

Final report site
Teams participate in the final debriefing

The UBY group brings you the lively and lovely KODAMA (Japanese legendary tree spirits that inhabit the trees).
In the future, people can use AR technology to discover them in the forests of Tsukuba, create them, and communicate and interact with them and the other citizens who created them. kodama not only inspires people to explore the city and strengthen their understanding of it, but also provides topics and opportunities for people to communicate with each other, bringing people closer together.

UBY Panel Discussion Program

The Pika team brings you pika maping, a real-time projection of the outer layers of minimalist buildings in Tsukuba and other cities in the future, which will beautify a lonely and dull city without using large resources or adding noise, and bring sustainable development to the urban landscape with small resources. The projection content is divided into various kinds, such as the change of seasons and traditional festivals. There is also the interaction mode between architecture and future wearable devices. Bringing new life to the calm city in a technological way.

pica group members introduce the program

The Night Flowers group brings designs that translate human voices and stories into nighttime flowers. The flowers open in the trees to bring warmth to people walking at night. The size and shape of the flowers will change according to different people's tones and emotions. In addition to the normal blooming flowers, one will also find flowers that are wilted: they represent the people associated with the SDG (sustainable development goals), drawing attention to social and environmental issues.

Night Flower Panel Discussion Program

The LUMOS project team presented the "Glow in the Dark" project. The "fluorescent twinkle" project will brighten up the deep night of Tsukuba, add fun to the road for pedestrians and runners, and become a signboard to promote the technical culture of Tsukuba to the public. The specific implementation of the "Fluorescent Twinkle" project is to develop a new type of street light, which spreads the roof during the day to protect from wind and rain and absorb sunlight, and projects interesting patterns around people at night, so that people can interact with the patterns.

LUMOS project team brainstorming

The express train team will create the Tsukuba express lab carriage by combining Tsukuba's unique transportation and advanced science and innovation. The express lab car is a platform to spread Tsukuba's innovation to Tokyo, young people, and beyond. express lab car will become a business card for Tsukuba and increase its attractiveness to young people, entrepreneurs, and researchers. For this, the team members designed a system that includes an app and a series of products involved in the offline process: posters, carriages, business cards ...... to allow people from different fields to interact closely with each other through the express lab carriages.

Express Train Panel Discussion Program
Group photo of workshop members in Tsukuba University

This workshop was the first time the students were exposed to the topic of "city" design. Unlike the internal courses, this workshop requires students to have a macroscopic view of the development of things, to think in an integrated way using various design methods, and to communicate with each other in a multicultural way. To design for the city, while studying the trajectory and needs of urban development, the students should always carry the designer's perception and curiosity of the world around them, so that the design can be emotional and warm.

Tsukuba is a city that combines technology and nature, and the people of Tsukuba are friendly, warm and creative. We would like to thank all the teachers and students of Tsinghua University and Tsukuba University who organized and cooperated to complete this workshop, and we are grateful for our friendship and look forward to our reunion.

Workshop Poster

Editor: Berry
The design presentations for each group in the text were provided by the respective groups.

Scroll to Top

清华美院师生赴日本筑波市参与感性城市设计工作坊

2018年9月2日至8日,清华大学美术学院师生与日本筑波大学合作的感性城市设计工作坊(“Kansei in future cities”workshop)在筑波大学顺利展开。本次工作坊由清华大学美术学院信息艺术设计系付志勇副教授带队,11名清华美院信息设计专业本科生、8名筑波大学学生参与了工作坊学习和设计实践。

工作坊启动首日,李昇姬老师做感性设计讲座
付志勇老师做城市交互设计讲座
筑波大学艺术系长太田圭教授也参与开幕式并致辞
筑波市市长五十岚立青介绍了筑波建设未来城市规划
启动仪式后的两校师生与筑波市市长合影

工作坊旨在启发学生结合感性设计的视角,结合筑波市可持续发展的目标,以设计与科技融合的手段为城市未来发展提供创意方案。工作坊的开幕讲座环节,筑波大学李昇姬(SeungHee Lee)副教授做了关于感性设计的讲座、清华大学付志勇副教授讲解了城市交互设计的案例与方法;筑波市市长五十岚立青(Tatsuo Igarashi)先生对筑波市的发展愿景进行了阐述,筑波大学艺术系长太田圭教授也参与开幕式并致辞。参与工作坊的学生们分为五组,每组都包含清华与筑波的学生,通过团队协作的方式,针对筑波市的公共空间,科技中心和创新机构进行调研。

在接下来的日程中,学生团队结合对筑波市的实地体验,发现并归纳出筑波市现阶段存在的问题、有待提升的发展空间,并完成初步设计定位。通过与老师们的沟通交流不断迭代设计构思,产出相关的设计原型和解决方案。

出发前往筑波市市中心开展实地调研
学生们依据调研结果迭代方案
创意初步展示
付志勇副教授给予点评

课程汇报于2018年9月7日在筑波大学综合研究栋D展开,各小组进行了最终展示。每组汇报完毕后接受师生们的提问与点评,讨论氛围融洽而热烈。

最终汇报现场
各小组参与最终汇报

UBY小组为大家带来了活泼可爱的KODAMA(日本传说中栖息于树木的树灵)。
未来,人们可以运用AR技术在筑波的森林中发现他们,创造他们,与他们、与创造他们的其他市民们交流互动。KODAMA不仅激发人们对城市的探索、加强对城市的了解,更提供人与人之间交流的话题与机会,让人们更紧密地联系在一起。

UBY小组讨论方案

Pika小组为大家带来pika maping。这是一个针对未来,筑波等城市简约建筑的外层的实时装饰投影;可以在不动用大资源、添噪音的前提下,美化原本寂寞平淡的城市;在小资源运用的前提下给城市面貌带来可持续的发展。投影内容分多种,四季变换、传统节日等。还有建筑与未来可穿戴设备的交互模式。给平静的城市以科技的方式带来新的生机。

pica小组组员介绍方案

夜间花朵小组带来将人的声音和故事,转换为夜间花朵的设计。花朵在树上开放,给夜行的人们带去温暖。花朵的大小与形态会根据不同人的音色与情感而变化。除了普通的盛开的花朵,人们也会发现有的花是枯萎的:它们代表了SDG( 可持续发展目标, sustainable development goals)相关的人群,引起人们对社会与环境问题的关注。

夜间花朵小组讨论方案

LUMOS project小组为大家带来”荧光闪烁”计划。“荧光闪烁”计划照亮筑波深沉夜色,为路上的行人和跑者增添行路趣味,成为筑波对外宣传技术文化的招牌。“荧光闪烁”计划具体实施方式为开发新型路灯,白天展开顶棚,遮风挡雨吸收阳光;晚上在人的周围投射出趣味特色的图案,人与图案可以互动;同时这个趣味路灯还兼顾一点指路的功能,这其中有多处可以运用到筑波独到的科研成果。

LUMOS project小组头脑风暴

特快列车小组结合筑波特色交通与先进科创,创造筑波express lab车厢。车厢相当于平台,把筑波的创新传播给东京,年轻人,以及更多的地区。express lab车厢将会成为筑波一张名片,提高筑波对年轻人,创业者,研究人员的吸引力。对此,小组成员设计了一个系统,包含app和线下的一系列流程涉及到的产品:海报,车厢,名片……让不同领域的人们因express lab车厢密切交流。

特快列车小组讨论方案
筑波大学内工作坊成员合影

短暂并充实的筑波之行已告一段落,本次感性城市设计工作坊,是同学们首次接触“城市”这一话题的设计。区别于校内的课程学习,本次工作坊对学生们看待事物发展的宏观眼光、运用多种设计方法的综合思维、多文化之间的共同交流提出了更高要求。为城市做设计,在深入研究城市发展的轨迹和需求的同时,又要始终怀揣设计师对周围世界的感知力与好奇心,让设计通感情、有温度。

筑波是一座结合科技与自然的城市,筑波市的人们友好、热情、富有创造力,感谢清华大学、筑波大学所有组织、配合完成此次工作坊的师生,感谢我们的友谊,期待我们的重逢。

工作坊海报

小编:莓子
文中各组设计介绍由相关小组提供。

滚动到顶部